Black Lion claim victory over combined A squad

Black Lion claim victory over combined A squad

An A squad combining some of Glasgow Warriors and Edinburgh's most promising academy talents fell to a 38-0 defeat at the hands of a vastly experienced Black Lion outfit at Hive Stadium this afternoon.

The visiting Georgian professional side came out on top in a physical encounter, scoring six tries to claim the win in the behind closed doors friendly, with the professional outfit’s experience and physicality proving decisive.

Both Edinburgh and Glasgow were able to give valuable game time to a number of youngsters, who gained plenty of experience going up against a strong side with a host of Georgian internationals that represented their country at the 2023 Rugby World Cup in France.

Glasgow Warriors would like to thank Black Lion for providing the opposition in today’s friendly, and wish them all the best for the rest of their UK tour.

Combined Glasgow Warriors/Edinburgh A squad

1 Mikey Jones (Edinburgh)
2 Harri Morris (Edinburgh)
3 Murphy Walker (Glasgow Warriors)
4 Rob Carmichael (Edinburgh)
5 Euan McVie (Edinburgh)
6 Tom Currie (Edinburgh)
7 Jonny Morris (Glasgow Warriors)
8 Jack Mann (Glasgow Warriors)

9 Sean Kennedy (Glasgow Warriors)
10 Matthew Urwin (Glasgow Warriors)
11 Luca Bardelli (Glasgow Warriors)
12 Duncan Munn (Glasgow Warriors)
13 Ben Salmon (Glasgow Warriors)
14 Aidan Cross (Glasgow Warriors)
15 Fergus Watson (Glasgow Warriors)


16 Jerry Blyth-Lafftery (Edinburgh)
17 Tom Banatvala (Glasgow Warriors)
18 Enrique Pieretto (Glasgow Warriors)
19 Jamie Campbell (Edinburgh)
20 Johnny Ventisei (Glasgow Warriors)
21 Fin Burgess (Edinburgh)
22 Isaac Coates (Edinburgh)
23 Kerr Yule (Glasgow Warriors)
24 Jack Hocking (Edinburgh)

Black Lion 

1. Dato Abdushelishvili
2. Irakli Kvatadze
3. Giorgi Chkhartishvili
4. Nodar Cheishvili
5. Demur Epremimdze
6. Mikheil Gachechiladze
7. Sandro Mamamtavrishvili
8. Luka Ivanishvili

9. Tengiz Perenidze
10. Luka Tsirikidze
11. Shalva Aptisauri
12. Tornike Kakhoidze
13. Giorgi Kveseladze
14. Giorgi Jobava
15. Luka Matkava


16. Tengiz Zamtaradze
17. Nikoloz Khatiashvili
18. Bachuki Tchumbadze
19. Grigor Kerdikoshvili
20. Mikheil Babunashvili
21. Giorgio Margalitadze
22. Otari Lashkhi
23. Demuri Tapladze
24. Vakhtang Kvatadze
25. Beka Mammrikishvili
26. Giorgi Kervalishvili
27. Ilia Spanderashvili
28. Alexander Todua

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.