Three uncapped Warriors in Scotland squad for Autumn Nations Series

Three uncapped Warriors in Scotland squad for Autumn Nations Series

Scotland Head Coach Gregor Townsend has named 16 Glasgow Warriors amongst his 40-man playing group for the 2022 Autumn Nations Series, a cohort that includes three players in contention for their debuts in the dark blue jersey.

Jack Dempsey, Stafford McDowall and Murphy Walker would each make their first senior appearance for Scotland if they take to the field at BT Murrayfield over the next month, with Scotland opening their campaign against Australia on Saturday 29 October.

Dempsey is rewarded for his scintillating form since arriving at Scotstoun last summer with a first call-up to the Scotland setup, the back-rower qualifying courtesy of his Glaswegian grandfather and having completed World Rugby’s three-year stand-down period following the last of his caps for Australia in 2019.

Having impressed in his outings for the Warriors to date this season, centre McDowall is selected in a Scotland squad for the first time since the 2019 Six Nations, the 6’4” Dumfries product having crossed for a try in Glasgow’s 52-24 victory over Cardiff at Scotstoun.

Tight-head prop Walker – who is also capable of playing at loose-head – is selected for a second successive Scotland squad, having been a part of the playing group that toured Chile and Argentina over the summer.

Elsewhere, there’s also a return to the international arena for Richie Gray amongst Townsend’s second-row options; having won the most recent of his 67 caps in last year’s Guinness Six Nations, the 2013 British and Irish Lion’s form in the BKT United Rugby Championship since returning to Scotstoun saw him record more lineout steals than any other player in the 2021/22 campaign.

Ali Price’s tally of 54 caps sees the scrum-half second only to Gray as the most experienced Warrior in the squad, with his fellow Lion, tight-head Zander Fagerson, also over a half-century of caps for his country.

Matt Fagerson is once again included amongst the back-row options after a series of barnstorming performances on the 2022 summer tour, as is second-rower Scott Cummings, who currently sits second in the BKT URC for lineouts stolen this season.

George Turner and Jamie Bhatti complete the Glasgow forwards selected by Townsend, the latter having been an ever-present for the Warriors in 2022/23 so far.

Behind the scrum, club captain Kyle Steyn is included having successfully returned to training this week after a hamstring issue, with Sione Tuipulotu – the man that has led the Warriors in Steyn’s absence – looking to add to his tally of seven caps for Scotland.

Having made his senior Scotland debut in Argentina earlier this year, full-back Ollie Smith joins fellow young guns Ross Thompson and Rufus McLean amongst the back-line options available to Townsend.

The Glasgow contingent is completed by George Horne, the scrum-half rewarded for a sublime start to the 2022/23 campaign that saw him voted as the McCrea Financial Services Warrior of the Month for September.

Scotland play host to Australia, Fiji, New Zealand and Argentina across the course of the next month, with select tickets still available at

Scotland squad for the 2022 Autumn Nations Series

Ewan Ashman (Sale Sharks) 4 caps
Josh Bayliss (Bath Rugby) 3 caps
Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors) 22 caps
Dave Cherry (Edinburgh Rugby) 7 caps
Andy Christie (Saracens) 3 caps
Luke Crosbie (Edinburgh Rugby) 2 caps
Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors) 23 caps
Jack Dempsey (Glasgow Warriors) uncapped
Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) 24 caps
Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) 50 caps
Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh Rugby) 55 caps
Jonny Gray (Exeter Chiefs) 69 caps
Richie Gray (Glasgow Warriors) 67 caps
Nick Haining (Edinburgh Rugby) 11 caps
WP Nel (Edinburgh Rugby) 48 caps
Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby) – CAPTAIN – 32 caps
Pierre Schoeman (Edinburgh Rugby) 12 caps
Sam Skinner (Edinburgh Rugby) 22 caps
Rory Sutherland (Ulster Rugby) 20 caps
George Turner (Glasgow Warriors) 27 caps
Murphy Walker (Glasgow Warriors) uncapped
Hamish Watson (Edinburgh Rugby) 51 caps

Mark Bennett (Edinburgh Rugby) 27 caps
Darcy Graham (Edinburgh Rugby) 29 caps
Chris Harris (Gloucester Rugby) 36 caps
Adam Hastings (Gloucester Rugby) 26 caps
Stuart Hogg (Exeter Chiefs) 93 caps
George Horne (Glasgow Warriors) 17 caps
Damien Hoyland (Edinburgh Rugby) 4 caps
Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby) 34 caps
Stafford McDowall (Glasgow Warriors) uncapped
Rufus McLean (Glasgow Warriors) 3 caps
Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) 54 caps
Cameron Redpath (Bath Rugby) 2 caps
Ollie Smith (Glasgow Warriors) 1 cap
Kyle Steyn (Glasgow Warriors) 5 caps
Ross Thompson (Glasgow Warriors) 3 caps
Sione Tuipulotu (Glasgow Warriors) 7 caps
Duhan van der Merwe (Edinburgh Rugby) 19 caps
Ben White (London Irish) 6 caps

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.