Kyle Steyn set for Rugby World Cup debut

Kyle Steyn set for Rugby World Cup debut

A total of eight Glasgow Warriors players will start for Scotland against Tonga in their second Rugby World Cup match in Nice, France on Sunday (24 September), with club captain Kyle Steyn set to make his Rugby World Cup debut.

Steyn has been named on the wing for Sunday’s outing in place of Darcy Graham. He is joined in the backs by fellow club mate and inside centre Sione Tuipulotu.

In the pack, second row Scott Cummings comes into the starting line up in place of Grant Gilchrist for his first appearance of this campaign. Meanwhile, hooker George Turner, tighthead prop Zander Fagerson, second row Richie Gray, flanker Rory Darge, and number 8 Jack Dempsey all retain their places following the opening match against defending champions South Africa.

A further three players will contribute from the bench, with Matt Fagerson, George Horne and Huw Jones all named. This will be George Horne’s first involvement in this campaign. However, he has some notable Rugby World Cup involvement having scored a hat trick against Russia in 2019’s Rugby World Cup.

Scotland team to play Tonga in the Rugby World Cup 2023 (Pool B) fixture at Stade De Nice, Nice, on Sunday 24 September 2023, kick-off 4.45pm (BST) – live on STV and ITV:

1 Rory Sutherland (Unattached) 24 caps
2 George Turner (Glasgow Warriors) 38 caps
3 Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) 60 caps
4 Richie Gray (Glasgow Warriors) 76 caps
5 Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors) 30 caps
6 Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby) – Captain – 44 caps
7 Rory Darge (Glasgow Warriors) – Vice-Captain – 12 caps
8 Jack Dempsey (Glasgow Warriors) 13 caps

9 Ben White (Toulon) 17 caps
10 Finn Russell (Bath Rugby) – Vice-Captain – 73 caps
11 Duhan van der Merwe (Edinburgh Rugby) 32 caps
12 Sione Tuipulotu (Glasgow Warriors) 20 caps
13 Chris Harris (Gloucester Rugby) 43 caps
14 Kyle Steyn (Glasgow Warriors) 13 caps
15 Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby) 47 caps


16 Ewan Ashman (Edinburgh Rugby) 9 caps
17 Pierre Schoeman (Edinburgh Rugby) 24 caps
18 WP Nel (Edinburgh Rugby) 58 caps
19 Sam Skinner (Edinburgh Rugby) 28 caps
20 Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) 37 caps
21 George Horne (Glasgow Warriors) 23 caps
22 Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors) 40 caps
23 Darcy Graham (Edinburgh Rugby) 36 caps


Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.