Seven academy talents named in Scotland U20 team

Seven academy talents named in Scotland U20 team

Scotland U20 Head Coach Kenny Murray has named seven Glasgow Warriors academy prospects in his matchday 23 for Friday night’s U20 Six Nations opener against Wales, as the men in blue travel to Colwyn Bay to open the 2024 competition.

Murray’s squad will travel to North Wales hoping to repeat their victory over the men in red at Scotstoun in 2023, with fond memories of Colwyn Bay including a 52-17 win back in 2020 that included future Warriors Ollie Smith and Rory Darge.

Ruaraidh Hart is the sole Warrior to line up in the forwards for Friday night’s clash, the second-rower serving as one of two vice-captains having impressed in pre-season clashes with Zebre Parma and Ulster for the Warriors.

Fergus Watson makes his Scotland U20 debut behind the scrum, the full-back pulling on the jersey for the first time since being named in the Glasgow senior academy ahead of the 2023/24 campaign.

Amena Caqusau – scorer of nine tries in the FOSROC Super Series for the FOSROC Future XV – makes his first Scotland U20 appearance since the opening match of last year’s championship, with Kerr Johnston making it an all-Glasgow back-three.

Kerr Yule rounds out the Glasgow contingent in the starting XV, the big centre having impressed in both attack and defence for Ayrshire Bulls and the FOSROC Future XV across the Super Series.

Two further Glasgow prospects await their opportunity from the replacements bench, as Callum Norrie and Jonny Morris line up in a six-two split of forwards and backs for Friday’s encounter.

Supporters can watch the match live on BBC iPlayer this Friday, with kick-off at 6.45pm.

Scotland U20 team to face Wales U20 on Friday 2 February at Stadiwm CSM, Colwyn Bay (kick off 6.45pm, live on BBC iPlayer)

15. Fergus Watson* (Glasgow Warriors)
14. Kerr Johnston* (Glasgow Warriors)
13. Geordie Gwynn (Ealing Trailfinders/Brunel University) – Vice Captain
12. Kerr Yule* (Glasgow Warriors)
11. Amena Caqusau* (Glasgow Warriors)
10. Isaac Coates* (Edinburgh Rugby)
9. Murdoch Lock (Bath Rugby/Bath University)

1. Robbie Deans* (Edinburgh Rugby)
2. Elliot Young (Exeter Chiefs/Exeter University)
3. Ollie Blyth-Lafferty* (Edinburgh Rugby)
4. Euan McVie* (Edinburgh Rugby)
5. Ruaraidh Hart* (Glasgow Warriors) – Vice Captain
6. Liam McConnell* (Edinburgh Rugby) – Captain
7. Freddy Douglas* (Edinburgh Rugby)
8. Tom Currie* (Edinburgh Rugby)


16. Jerry Blyth-Lafferty* (Edinburgh Rugby)
17. Alex O’Driscoll (Saracens/Loughborough University)
18. Callum Norrie* (Glasgow Warriors)
19. Archie Clarke (Durham University)
20. Monroe Job (Southern Knights)
21. Jonny Morris* (Glasgow Warriors)
22. Eric Davey (Stirling Wolves)
23. Jack Hocking* (Edinburgh Rugby)

*FOSROC Scottish Rugby Contracted Academy Player

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.