Internationals return for Leinster visit

Internationals return for Leinster visit

Glasgow Warriors Head Coach Franco Smith welcomes back nine players from international duty ahead of the return of the BKT United Rugby Championship this weekend, as his side travels to the RDS to take on Irish heavyweights Leinster.

Seven of those players involved in Scotland camp for the recent Autumn Nations Series are included in the starting XV for tomorrow’s clash at the RDS, including recent international debutants Murphy Walker and Jack Dempsey.

The tight-five is, in fact, unchanged from the club’s most recent BKT URC outing, with the front-row trio of Oli Kebble, Fraser Brown and Walker having started in last month’s 37-0 victory over Benetton at Scotstoun.

Having made his professional debut in the win over Benetton, Alex Samuel retains his place in the second row, joining Sintu Manjezi – an ever-present in the 2022/23 season to date – in the engine room.

The only change to the pack comes in the back-row, as Dempsey’s inclusion at number eight sees Sione Vailanu move to the openside and Gregor Brown shift to blindside flanker.

George Horne and Tom Jordan resume their combination in the half-backs, the former having scored more points than any other Warrior in the competition to date.

Kyle Steyn captains the side from outside centre, linking up with fellow Scotland squad member Stafford McDowall in the midfield.

An unchanged back-three sees Rufus McLean and Sebastian Cancelliere provide pace aplenty on the wings, with Josh McKay completing the starting lineup at full-back.

Two further Scotland internationals are included amongst the replacements, as Jamie Bhatti and Ross Thompson return to the fold after being involved with Gregor Townsend’s outfit during the Autumn Nations Series.

Johnny Matthews and Simon Berghan join Bhatti as the front-row cover, having both come off the bench in the victory over Benetton.

JP du Preez and Lewis Bean cover the tight-five, whilst Euan Ferrie – another to have made his first appearance for the club against Benetton last time out – is included amongst a six-two split of forwards and backs on the bench.

Jamie Dobie rounds out the matchday 23, the scrum-half joining Thompson as the cover behind the scrum for tomorrow afternoon’s encounter.

Speaking following selection, Head Coach Smith told “Tomorrow is an opportunity to measure ourselves against a strong Leinster side.

“We were pleased with how we ended our last block of games with our win over Benetton and we plan to carry that momentum into this important block.

“Tomorrow is the start of the next part of our journey as we continue to build our squad and our performances.”

Glasgow Warriors team to face Leinster at the RDS, Saturday 26 November, kick-off 3.15pm. You can watch the match live on Viaplay Sports 1, or follow all the action live on the @GlasgowWarriors Twitter account.

1. Oli Kebble (82)
2. Fraser Brown (128)
3. Murphy Walker (8)
4. Sintu Manjezi (6)
5. Alex Samuel (1)
6. Gregor Brown (9)
7. Sione Vailanu (2)
8. Jack Dempsey (25)

9. George Horne (84)
10. Tom Jordan (6)
11. Rufus McLean (23)
12. Stafford McDowall (40)
13. Kyle Steyn (C) (52)
14. Sebastian Cancelliere (14)
15. Josh McKay (18)


16. Johnny Matthews (32)
17. Jamie Bhatti (72)
18. Simon Berghan (15)
19. JP du Preez (5)
20. Lewis Bean (20)
21. Euan Ferrie (1)
22. Jamie Dobie (37)
23. Ross Thompson (38)

Unavailable for selection: Scott Cummings (foot) Allan Dell (calf), Rory Darge (ankle), Cole Forbes (neck) Thomas Gordon (calf), Richie Gray (suspension), Sam Johnson (jaw), Nathan McBeth (head), Domingo Miotti (knee), Cameron Neild (head), Enrique Pieretto (chest), Duncan Weir (calf).

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.