Uncapped Johnson one of 16 Warriors selected in Scotland squad

Uncapped Johnson one of 16 Warriors selected in Scotland squad

Sam Johnson is one of sixteen Glasgow Warriors named in Gregor Townsend's Scotland squad for the 2018 Autumn Tests.

The Australian born centre qualifies for Scotland through residency and has been a key member of the Glasgow squad during his three years at Scotstoun.

The 25-year old is one of four Glasgow Warriors centres included in the 40-man squad; Alex Dunbar, Peter Horne and Huw Jones also included.

Wingers Tommy Seymour and Lee Jones are named, as are scrum half pair Ali Price and George Horne. Adam Hastings’ fine start to the season for his club is also rewarded.

In the forward pack, Alex Allan is recalled and Hookers Fraser Brown and George Turner are included.

Jonny Gray is included in the second row while Rob Harley’s inclusion will see him cover both the engine room and the back row.

20-year old Matt Fagerson will be looking to add to the cap he earned on this year’s summer tour and Warriors co-captain Ryan Wilson’s inclusion makes it a total of 16 Glasgow players in the squad.

The national team will face Wales in Cardiff on Saturday 3 November and contest the ‘Doddie Weir Cup’, as both teams honour the former Scotland and British & Irish Lions player diagnosed with Motor Neurone Disease.

Scotland will then return home to BT Murrayfield for three home Tests against Fiji, South Africa and Argentina on the consecutive Saturdays that follow (10, 17 and 24 November), all of which are on target for capacity crowds, with South Africa sold out and Fiji and Argentina close behind.



Alex Allan (Glasgow Warriors) – 4 caps

Simon Berghan (Edinburgh) – 10 caps

Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh) – 4 caps

Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors) – 34 caps

Allan Dell (Edinburgh) – 13 caps

David Denton (Leicester Tigers) – 42 caps

Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) – 1 cap

Ross Ford (Edinburgh) – 110 caps

Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh) – 25 caps

Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors) – 43 caps

Rob Harley (Glasgow Warriors) – 20 caps

Murray McCallum (Edinburgh) – 3 caps

Stuart McInally (Edinburgh) – 18 caps

Willem Nel (Edinburgh) – 22 caps

Gordon Reid (London Irish) – 32 caps

Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh) – 2 caps

Sam Skinner (Exeter Chiefs) – uncapped

Blade Thomson (Scarlets) – uncapped

Ben Toolis (Edinburgh) – 12 caps

George Turner (Glasgow Warriors) – 5 caps

Hamish Watson (Edinburgh) – 20 caps

Ryan Wilson (Glasgow Warriors) – 37 caps

BACKS (18)

Alex Dunbar (Glasgow Warriors) – 28 caps

Dougie Fife (Edinburgh) – 8 caps

Chris Harris (Newcastle Falcons) – 4 caps

Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors) – 3 caps

George Horne (Glasgow Warriors) – 2 caps

Pete Horne (Glasgow Warriors) – 35 caps

Sam Johnson (Glasgow Warriors) – uncapped

Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors) – 16 caps

Lee Jones (Glasgow Warriors) – 9 caps

Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh) – 5 caps

Greig Laidlaw (Clermont Auvergne) – 63 caps

Sean Maitland (Saracens) – 34 caps

Byron McGuigan (Sale Sharks) – 5 caps

Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) – 17 caps

Henry Pyrgos (Edinburgh) – 27 caps

Finn Russell (Racing 92) – 37 caps

Matt Scott (Edinburgh) – 39 caps

Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors) – 43 caps

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.