Thirteen Warriors named in Scotland squad for 2020 Six Nations

Thirteen Warriors named in Scotland squad for 2020 Six Nations

Scotland head coach Gregor Townsend has named 13 Glasgow Warriors in his 38-man squad for the upcoming Guinness Six Nations, including three players looking to make their debut on the international stage.

Ratu Tagive
and Tom Gordon have been rewarded for their form so far this season in a Warriors
jersey, with both men receiving a first international call-up after impressing
in their outings for Dave Rennie’s side.

Scotland 7s star Kyle Steyn is included in a wider Scotland squad for the
second successive selection, having previously been included in Townsend’s
pre-Rugby World Cup training squad last summer.

Jonny Gray
is the most-experienced Glasgow player named in Townsend’s squad, with the
25-year-old looking to add to his 55 international caps over the course of the

Rutherglen-born second-rower is joined in the engine room by club-mate Scott
Cummings, who retains his place in the squad after playing a part in every
match at the 2019 Rugby World Cup.

A trio of
Warriors front-rowers are also included with Zander Fagerson included alongside
hookers Fraser Brown and George Turner, as uncapped flanker Gordon completes the
selected Glasgow forwards.

Behind the
scrum, Ali Price and George Horne form two thirds of the scrum-half quota named
by Townsend, with club-mate Adam Hastings included amongst the fly-halves.

Huw Jones’
run of form sees him return to the Scotland setup, as the centre is selected
alongside Sam Johnson as one of the squad’s midfield options.

Glasgow duo
Steyn and Tagive are the two uncapped backs named by Townsend, with the pair
set to link up with the national side as preparations continue for their
opening weekend trip to face Ireland at the Aviva Stadium.

Scotland squad for the 2020 Guinness Six Nations


Simon Berghan (Edinburgh) – 24 caps
Jamie Bhatti (Edinburgh) – 15 caps
Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh) – 11 caps
Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors) – 46 caps
Alex Craig (Gloucester) – uncapped
Luke Crosbie (Edinburgh) – uncapped
Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors) – 8 caps
Allan Dell (London Irish) – 28 caps
Cornell du Preez (Worcester Warriors) – 6 caps
Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) – 25 caps
Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh) – 40 caps
Tom Gordon (Glasgow Warriors) – uncapped
Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors) – 55 caps
Nick Haining (Edinburgh) – uncapped
Stuart McInally (Edinburgh) – 33 caps
Willem Nel (Edinburgh) – 35 caps
Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh) – 14 caps
Rory Sutherland (Edinburgh) – 3 caps
Ben Toolis (Edinburgh) – 22 caps
George Turner (Glasgow Warriors) – 9 caps
Hamish Watson (Edinburgh) – 28 caps

BACKS (17)

Darcy Graham (Edinburgh) – 11 caps
Chris Harris (Gloucester) – 14 caps
Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors) – 16 caps
Stuart Hogg (Exeter Chiefs) CAPTAIN – 72 caps
George Horne (Glasgow Warriors) – 10 caps
Rory Hutchinson (Northampton Saints) – 3 caps
Sam Johnson (Glasgow Warriors) – 9 caps
Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors) – 23 caps
Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh) – 17 caps
Sean Maitland (Saracens) – 44 caps
Byron McGuigan (Sale Sharks) – 9 caps
Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) – 28 caps
Henry Pyrgos (Edinburgh) – 28 caps
Finn Russell (Racing 92) – 49 caps
Matt Scott (Edinburgh) – 39 caps
Kyle Steyn (Glasgow Warriors) – uncapped
Ratu Tagive (Glasgow Warriors) – uncapped

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.