Team named for 1872 Cup opener

Team named for 1872 Cup opener

A starting XV containing 12 internationals will take to the field for the opening match of this season’s 1872 Cup tomorrow night, as Glasgow Warriors welcome Edinburgh to Scotstoun in round eight of the United Rugby Championship.

Cancelliere’s inclusion is the only alteration to the side that claimed a dominant
22-7 victory over Exeter last time out, as Danny Wilson’s men look to start
their trophy defence on the front foot.

Turner packs down once again at hooker, joining Scotland colleagues Jamie
Bhatti and Zander Fagerson in the front-row.

Cummings partners Richie Gray in the engine room, linking up for the third
successive match in the second row.

Jack Dempsey
continues at number eight after his Player of the Match-winning display against
Exeter last weekend, as Rory Darge and Matt Fagerson join the Australian as
part of a dynamic back-row triumvirate.

Ali Price
continues as captain in the absence of club co-captains Ryan Wilson and Fraser
Brown, with Ross Thompson lining up at fly-half 51 weeks on from his
professional debut against the men from the capital.

Kyle Steyn
moves to outside centre in place of the unavailable Sione Tuipulotu, teaming up
with Sam Johnson to form the midfield combination.

shift infield allows for the inclusion of Cancelliere on the wing, with Cole
Forbes and Josh McKay retaining their places in the back-three after an
impressive showing against Exeter.

On the
bench, Johnny Matthews continues in the number 16 jersey, having rumbled over
for his first try in European competition in last weekend’s victory over

Walker comes back into the matchday 23 for the first time since October’s
victory over the Emirates Lions at Scotstoun, joining Oli Kebble as the cover
at prop.

McDonald and Thomas Gordon retain their places after coming off the bench
against Exeter, whilst Duncan Weir’s selection sees the fly-half in line for
his first 1872 Cup clash for Glasgow since the 2015/16 season.

George Horne
and Stafford McDowall complete the replacements, the latter in line for his
first outing since coming off the bench against Zebre Parma back in October.

about his selection, Head Coach Danny Wilson told ““Coming
off the back of a good win against Exeter in Europe, we know we will have to
match that intensity and physicality to give ourselves an opportunity to win a
derby match.

are in a good vein of form with a big win against Saracens in their last game.

looking forward to the challenge of welcoming them to Scotstoun tomorrow evening.”

Warriors team to face Edinburgh at Scotstoun, Monday 27 December, kick-off 7pm,
live on Premier Sport 1. You can also follow all the action as it happens on
our Live Match Centre at

1. Jamie
Bhatti (55)
2. George Turner (68)
3. Zander Fagerson (105)
4. Scott Cummings (82)
5. Richie Gray (70)
6. Matt Fagerson (76)
7. Rory Darge (12)
8. Jack Dempsey (8)

9. Ali Price
(C) (101)
10. Ross Thompson (23)
11. Cole Forbes (15)
12. Sam Johnson (80)
13. Kyle Steyn (39)
14. Sebastian Cancelliere (2)
15. Josh McKay (3)

16. Johnny
Matthews (19)
17. Oli Kebble (64)
18. Murphy Walker (2)
19. Kiran McDonald (40)
20. Thomas Gordon (41)
21. George Horne (73)
22. Duncan Weir (113)
23. Stafford McDowall (30)

for selection:
Berghan, Fraser Brown, Walter Fifita, Pete Horne, Sean Kennedy, Tom Lambert,
Nathan McBeth, Rufus McLean, Ewan McQuillin, Sione
Tuipulotu, Ryan Wilson.

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.