Six Warriors selected for Scotland A

Six Warriors selected for Scotland A

Interim Head Coach Mike Blair has named six Glasgow Warriors in the Scotland A starting XV for tomorrow afternoon’s clash with England A, in what will be the first Scotland A fixture since 2014.

The matchday 23 will be looking to defend a strong record against England A, with Scotland unbeaten in their last three meetings with the Auld Enemy.

After receiving an eleventh-hour call-up to the squad in the wake of nine players self-isolating, Stafford McDowall goes straight into the starting XV to line up at inside-centre for his first international outing since representing Scotland U20.

Ross Thompson sees his impressive Glasgow Warriors form in 2020/21 rewarded with a start at fly-half, following a campaign that saw the 22-year-old do the double at the club’s annual awards.

Rufus McLean makes it a hat-trick of Warriors lining up in the back-line, with Blair selecting the University of Strathclyde student on the wing for tomorrow afternoon’s encounter.

Up front, Oli Kebble – the only capped Warrior selected for the clash – starts at tight-head for the first time in the dark blue of Scotland, shifting across the front row from his customary slot at loose-head.

Kiran McDonald is selected in the second-row, the Glaswegian earning selection in the engine room after a strong finish to the 2020/21 campaign that included his first-ever try in professional rugby in May’s win over the Dragons.

The Glasgow contingent is completed by Rory Darge, who starts at openside flanker after a barnstorming start to his career in Warriors colours.

The match is live on Channel Four tomorrow afternoon, with kick-off at Welford Road scheduled for 2pm.

Scotland A team to play England A at Mattioli Woods Welford Road, Leicester
Sunday 27 June (kick-off 2pm) – live on Channel Four

15. Damien Hoyland (Edinburgh Rugby)
14. Rufus McLean (Glasgow Warriors)
13. Matt Scott (Leicester Tigers)
12. Stafford McDowall (Glasgow Warriors)
11. Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby)
10. Ross Thompson (Glasgow Warriors)
9. Charlie Shiel (Edinburgh Rugby)

1. Nick Auterac (Northampton Saints)
2. Ewan Ashman (Sale Sharks)
3. Oli Kebble (Glasgow Warrriors)
4. Cameron Henderson (Leicester Tigers)
5. Kiran McDonald (Glasgow Warriors)
6. Josh Bayliss (Bath Rugby)
7. Rory Darge (Glasgow Warriors)
8. Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh Rugby)


16. Adam McBurney (Ulster Rugby)
17. Robin Hislop (Doncaster Knights)
18. Javan Sebastian (Scarlets)
19. Jamie Hodgson (Edinburgh Rugby)
20. Callum Hunter-Hill (Saracens)
21. Ben Vellacott (Wasps)
22. Adam Hastings (Gloucester Rugby)
23. George Taylor (Edinburgh Rugby)

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.