Six Glasgow talents named in Scotland U20 squad

Six Glasgow talents named in Scotland U20 squad

Scotland U20 Head Coach Kenny Murray has named six Glasgow Warriors prospects in his squad for the upcoming U20 Summer Series, which will see the country’s best young talents travel to Italy for four matches across June and July.

Murray’s squad will play Wales, Italy and Georgia in the pool stages of the series – with all matches taking place at the Stadio Comunale di Monigo in Treviso – , before finishing with a cross-group match on Tuesday 12 July.

Having captained the side during the 2022 U20 Six Nations earlier this year, flanker Rhys Tait is once again included after impressing in the FOSROC Super6 Sprint Series.

Max Williamson joins Tait in the pack, the second-rower having agreed his first professional deal with the Warriors ahead of the 2022/23 season.

Behind the scrum, Euan Cunningham is selected after a series of impressive displays for Stirling County in the Sprint Series.

Christian Townsend will look to continue his run of playing in every Scotland U20 fixture since 2021, as he looks to continue a run of ten successive appearances for Murray’s side.

Another to have caught the eye in the Sprint Series for Stirling County, Ross McKnight is once again included amongst the options on the wing.

The Glasgow contingent is completed by centre Duncan Munn, who retains his place in the squad after making his Scotland U20 debut in the 2022 U20 Six Nations.

Scotland U20 squad for Under-20 Summer Series

Gregor Hiddleston (Stirling County)
Patrick Harrison* (Watsonians RFC/Edinburgh Rugby)
Duncan Hood (Bath University)
James Lascelles (Gloucester Rugby/Hartpury College)
Ali Rogers (Ayrshire Bulls)
Iain Carmichael (Boroughmuir Bears)
Gregor Scougall (Watsonians RFC)
Callum Norrie (Stirling County/Strahallan School)
Max Williamson* (Stirling County/Glasgow Warriors)
Jake Spurway (Stirling County /Durham University)
Josh Taylor (Ealing Trailfinders)
Rudi Brown* (Southern Knights/Edinburgh Rugby)
Rhys Tait* (Boroughmuir Bears/Glasgow Warriors)
Tim Brown (Ayrshire Bulls)
Ollie Leatherbarrow (Exeter Chiefs)
Liam McConnell (Boroughmuir Bears)
Euan Groenewald (University of Pretoria (TUKS))
Matt Deehan (Newcastle Falcons)

Murray Redpath (Southern Knights/Newcastle University)
Finlay Burgess (Stirling County)
Ben Afshar (Southern Knights)
Christian Townsend* (Ayrshire Bulls/Glasgow Warriors)
Euan Cunningham* (Stirling County/Glasgow Warriors)
Andrew Stirrat (Ayrshire Bulls)
Ben Salmon (Stirling County)
Duncan Munn* (Boroughmuir Bears)
Thomas Glendinning (Ayrshire Bulls)
Keiran Clark (Southern Knights)
Kerr Johnston (Gala RFC)
Ryan Daley (Watsonians RFC)
Gabe Jones (Brunel University/Ealing Trailfinders)
Ross McKnight* (Stirling County/Glasgow Warriors)

*FOSROC Scottish Rugby Contracted Academy Player for 2021/2022 Season

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.