Six Glasgow prospects selected for Scotland U20 opener

Six Glasgow prospects selected for Scotland U20 opener

Six Glasgow Warriors academy talents have been named in the Scotland U20 matchday squad for this weekend’s U20 Six Nations opener, as Head Coach Kenny Murray and his side prepare to take on England on Friday night.

Openside flanker Rhys Tait leads the team from the openside flank, after having been named as the squad’s captain last week following a standout FOSROC Super6 campaign.

Fellow FOSROC Scottish Rugby Academy talent Max Williamson is named in the second-row, with the University of Strathclyde student one of 11 players in the matchday 23 to have featured in last season’s Six Nations tournament.

Christian Townsend will look to pull the strings from fly-half, having scored in the clash with the Auld Enemy in Cardiff last season.

Michael Gray starts at inside centre after impressing for Boroughmuir Bears this season, rekindling his partnership with club-mate Duncan Munn, who has been invited to train with Glasgow Warriors in recent weeks.

Stirling County winger Ross McKnight completes Glasgow’s academy contingent in the starting XV, with the 19-year-old having made his Scotland U20 debut against England last season.

With a six-two split amongst the replacements, Euan Cunningham – who captained Glasgow Warriors U20 to 1872 Cup success back in November – is named in the 22 jersey to provide cover in both half-back positions.

Scotland U20 team to face England on Friday 4 February at DAM Health Stadium, Edinburgh (kick-off 8pm) 

15. Robin McClintock (Montpellier)
14. Ross McKnight* (Stirling County/Glasgow Warriors)
13. Duncan Munn** (Boroughmuir Bears) 
12. Michael Gray*(Boroughmuir Bears/Glasgow Warriors) 
11. Ollie Melville (Newcastle University)
10. Christian Townsend* (Ayrshire Bulls/Glasgow Warriors)
9. Jed Gelderbloom (Edinburgh Rugby)

1. Tom Banatvala (Durham University)
2. Patrick Harrison* (Edinburgh Rugby)
3. Gregor Scougall** (Currie Chieftains)
4. Josh Taylor (Ealing Trailfinders)
5. Max Williamson* (Stirling County/Glasgow Warriors)
6. Matt Deehan (Newcastle Falcons)
7. Rhys Tait* (Boroughmuir Bears/Glasgow Warriors) CAPTAIN
8. Ollie Leatherbarrow (Exeter University)

16. Gregor Hiddleston (GHA)
17. Michael Jones* (Boroughmuir Bears)
18. Callum Norrie** (Strathallan School)
19. Jake Spurway (Durham University)
20. Olujare Oguntibeju (Ealing Trailfinders)
21. Tim Brown (Glasgow Hawks)
22. Euan Cunningham* (Stirling County / Glasgow Warriors)
23. Ben Evans* (Heriot’s Rugby/Edinburgh Rugby)

*FOSROC Scottish Rugby Contracted Academy Player
**FOSROC Scottish Rugby Regional Academy Player

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.