Peter Horne to make 150th appearance for Warriors

Peter Horne to make 150th appearance for Warriors

Pete Horne will play his 150th game for Glasgow Warriors in tomorrow’s 1872 Cup first leg at BT Murrayfield.

He made his Warriors debut against Ulster nine years ago and has 343 points to his name to date, including 20 tries.

The 29-year-old has represented Scotland 38 times during his Warriors tenure and started Glasgow’s 2015 Guinness PRO12 Final win.

He starts again this weekend, at inside centre with Nick Grigg outside of him in midfield.

His younger brother George starts at scrum-half with Adam Hastings his half-back partner, both fresh from signing new contracts with the club this week.

DTH van der Merwe returns to the starting XV, joining Tommy Seymour and Stuart Hogg in the back-three.

Grant Stewart, who signed his first professional contract with the club this week, joins Oli Kebble and Siua Halanukonuka in the front-row.

Rob Harley and Jonny Gray start in the engine room, while Adam Ashe returns to the back-row alongside captain Callum Gibbins and Matt Fagerson.

Niko Matawalu is named among the replacements, the Fijian has scored seven tries in his last four games.

Meanwhile, George Turner has successfully undergone surgery on an ankle injury sustained in last weekend’s win over Lyon. The hooker is expected to be out of action for 8-10 weeks.

Glasgow Warriors Head Coach Dave Rennie said: “We’ve got ourselves in a strong position in both competitions and will be looking to carry on our good form into these festive derby matches.

“Edinburgh have a strong kicking game, but we know if we can defuse that we’ll get lots of opportunities to attack.

“I’m also looking forward to watching two of the best 7s in the competition go head-to-head.”

Glasgow Warriors team to play Edinburgh in the Guinness PRO14, 1872 Cup First Leg at BT Murrayfield, Saturday 22 December, kick-off 5.15pm – live on Premier Sports 1. You can follow the game on Twitter @GlasgowWarriors. Glasgow Warriors appearances in brackets:

1. Oli Kebble (21)
2. Grant Stewart (12)
3. Siua Halanukonuka (20)
4. Rob Harley (196)
5. Jonny Gray (95)
6. Adam Ashe (62)
7. Callum Gibbins (C) (27)
8. Matt Fagerson (36)

9. George Horne (30)
10. Adam Hastings (19)
11. DTH van der Merwe
12. Peter Horne (149)
13. Nick Grigg (51)
14. Tommy Seymour (123)
15. Stuart Hogg (111)


16. Kevin Bryce (16)
17. Jamie Bhatti (34)
18. D’Arcy Rae (52)
19. Tim Swinson (116)
20. Chris Fusaro (153)
21. Ali Price (66)
22. Huw Jones (15)
23. Niko Matawalu (103)

Not available due to injury: Fraser Brown (knee), Zander Fagerson (ankle), Rory Hughes (shoulder), Sam Johnson (knee), Lee Jones (knee), Lelia Masaga (calf), Kiran McDonald (calf),Tevita Tameilau (ankle) and George Turner (ankle).

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.