Nine Warriors to take on Australia

Nine Warriors to take on Australia

A Scotland side containing nine Glasgow Warriors will take to the pitch at BT Murrayfield on Sunday afternoon, after Head Coach Gregor Townsend named his squad to take on Australia in the Autumn Nations Series.

Eight of the nine Warriors selected for Sunday’s clash retain their places in the matchday 23, whilst only three of the Glasgow contingent were present during the most recent meeting between the two sides – a 53-24 victory for the men in blue back in November 2017.

The front-row is unchanged from last Saturday’s 60-14 win over Tonga, meaning both George Turner – one of four Warriors to cross the whitewash last time out – and Zander Fagerson start at the coal face.

Matt Fagerson continues at number eight, having made more metres with ball in hand than any other Scottish forward last weekend.

Ali Price cedes the captaincy to regular skipper Stuart Hogg but continues at scrum-half, extending his run in the matchday 23 to 16 consecutive fixtures.

Sam Johnson joins club-mate Price in the starting back-line, having been defensively flawless with a 100% tackle success rate in the victory over Tonga.

Jamie Bhatti and Oli Kebble continue amongst the replacements, the latter having barged over for his first try in Scotland colours last Saturday.

George Horne is the sole Warrior in the matchday 23 that was not involved against Tonga, with the scrum-half replacing club-mate Jamie Dobie for Sunday afternoon’s encounter.

The Glasgow cohort is completed by Kyle Steyn, as he looks to back up his history-making haul of four tries against Tonga if and when called upon from the bench.

The match kicks off at 2.15pm on Sunday, and is live on Amazon Prime Video.

Scotland team to play Australia in the 2021 Autumn Nations Series, Sunday 7 November, BT Murrayfield, kick-off 2:15pm

15. Stuart Hogg – Exeter Chiefs (C) – 85 caps
14. Darcy Graham – Edinburgh Rugby – 20 caps
13. Chris Harris – Gloucester Rugby – 28 caps
12. Sam Johnson – Glasgow Warriors – 19 caps
11. Duhan van de Merwe – Worcester Warriors – 10 caps
10. Finn Russell – Racing 92 – (Vice-Captain) – 55 caps
9. Ali Price – Glasgow Warriors – 43 caps

8. Matt Fagerson – Glasgow Warriors – 14 caps
7. Hamish Watson – Edinburgh Rugby – 42 caps
6. Jamie Ritchie – Edinburgh Rugby – (Vice-Captain) – 28 caps
5. Grant Gilchrist – Edinburgh Rugby – 45 caps
4. Sam Skinner – Exeter Chiefs – 12 caps
3. Zander Fagerson – Glasgow Warriors – 39 caps
2. George Turner – Glasgow Warriors – 18 caps
1. Pierre Schoeman – Edinburgh Rugby – 1 cap


16. Ewan Ashman – Sale Sharks – Uncapped
17. Jamie Bhatti – Glasgow Warriors – 19 caps
18. Oli Kebble – Glasgow Warriors – 9 caps
19. Jamie Hodgson – Edinburgh Rugby – 1 cap
20. Josh Bayliss – Bath Rugby – Uncapped
21. George Horne – Glasgow Warriors – 14 caps
22. Adam Hastings – Gloucester Rugby – 23 caps
23. Kyle Steyn – Glasgow Warriors – 2 caps

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.