Nine Warriors selected for 2020 Guinness Six Nations opener

Nine Warriors selected for 2020 Guinness Six Nations opener

Scotland Head Coach Gregor Townsend has named nine Glasgow Warriors in his matchday 23 for this weekend’s clash with Ireland at the Aviva Stadium, with a new-look side set to take to the field in the opening round of the 2020 Guinness Six Nations.

An all-Glasgow
midfield combination will line up in the blue of Scotland on Saturday evening,
as Huw Jones returns to the international setup to partner club-mate Sam

Hastings makes his first Six Nations start at fly-half, with Ali Price following
up the news of his new contract with the Warriors by earning the nod at

Fagerson is rewarded for his fine form this season with the starting berth at
tight-head prop, joining vice-captain Fraser Brown in the Scotland front-row.

Townsend has
also selected a familiar Warriors pairing in the second-row, as Scott Cummings
continues his run of being part of every matchday 23 since his debut last
summer by partnering Jonny Gray in the engine room.

The Glasgow
contingent is completed by George Horne, the former Howe of Fife man in line to
make his first championship appearance from the replacements bench.

Kick-off for
Scotland’s opening match of the 2020 Guinness Six Nations is at 4.45pm on
Saturday evening, with the match live on STV and ITV.

Scotland team to play Ireland in the Guinness Six Nations, Aviva Stadium, Dublin
Saturday 1 February (kick-off 4.45pm) – live on ITV / STV

15. Stuart Hogg CAPTAIN (Exeter Chiefs) – 72 caps
14. Sean Maitland (Saracens) – 44 caps
13. Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors) – 23 caps
12. Sam Johnson (Glasgow Warriors) – 9 caps
11. Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh) – 17 caps
10. Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors) – 16 caps
9. Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) – 28 caps

1. Rory Sutherland (Edinburgh) – 3 caps
2. Fraser Brown VICE CAPTAIN (Glasgow Warriors) – 46 caps
3. Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) – 25 caps
4. Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors) – 8 caps
5. Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors) – 55 caps
6. Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh) – 14 caps
7. Hamish Watson (Edinburgh) – 28 caps
8. Nick Haining (Edinburgh) – uncapped

16. Stuart McInally (Edinburgh) – 33 caps
17. Allan Dell (London Irish) – 28 caps
18. Simon Berghan (Edinburgh) – 24 caps
19. Ben Toolis (Edinburgh) – 22 caps
20. Cornell du Preez (Worcester Warriors) – 6 caps
21. George Horne (Glasgow Warriors) – 10 caps
22. Rory Hutchinson (Northampton Saints) – 3 caps
23. Chris Harris (Gloucester) – 14 caps

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.