Hogg captain as eleven Warriors selected in Scotland squad to face USA

Hogg captain as eleven Warriors selected in Scotland squad to face USA

Stuart Hogg will captain his country for the first time as Gregor Townsend selects 10 Warriors in his starting XV to face USA.

Hogg will lead out the side that sees Matt Fagerson and George Horne make their international debuts, both starting alongside their elder brothers Zander and Pete.

19-year old Matt Fagerson starts at number 8 following a hugely impressive season for the Warriors that saw him named Young Scottish Player of the Year.

Scrum-half George Horne was named Player of the Season and Young Player of the Season at the Glasgow Warriors end of season awards dinner, as well as finishing as the club’s top try scorer in his first season as a professional and makes the step up to international level in Houston.

Horne partners newly capped Adam Hastings at half-back, the fly-half making his first start having come off the bench to make his debut against Canada last weekend.

Pete Horne has been named as vice-captain and partners Warriors teammate Nick Grigg in midfield.

It’s a full Warriors front row. Hat-trick hero George Turner starting in the middle of Jamie Bhatti and Zander Fagerson.

Tim Swinson has also been named as a vice-captain, starting on the blindside flank.

Fraser Brown’s inclusion on the bench makes it a total of eleven Warriors in the match day 23.

Scotland team to play USA, BBVA Compass Stadium, Houston, Texas

Saturday 16 June, kick-off 8pm local time (Sunday 2am UK time) – live on BBC

15. Stuart Hogg CAPTAIN (Glasgow Warriors) – 60 caps
. Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh) – 3 caps
13. Nick Grigg (Glasgow Warriors) – 4 caps
12. Pete Horne VICE CAPTAIN (Glasgow Warriors) – 33 caps
. Byron McGuigan (Sale Sharks) – 4 caps
10. Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors) – 1 cap
9. George Horne (Glasgow Warriors) – uncapped

1. Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors) – 9 caps
2. George Turner (Glasgow Warriors) – 3 caps
3. Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) – 16 caps

4. Lewis Carmichael (Edinburgh) – 1 cap
5. Ben Toolis (Edinburgh) – 10 caps
6. Tim Swinson VICE CAPTAIN (Glasgow Warriors) – 36 caps
7. Luke Hamilton (unattached) – 2 caps
8. Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) – uncapped

16. Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors) – 32 caps

17. Allan Dell (Edinburgh) – 11 caps
18. Murray McCallum (Edinburgh) – 2caps
19. Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh) – 23 caps
20. David Denton (Leicester Tigers) – 40 caps
21. Sam Hidalgo-Clyne (Scarlets) – 10 caps
22. Mark Bennett (Edinburgh) – 21 caps
23. Dougie Fife (Edinburgh) – 6 caps

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.