Gibbins to captain side in Lyon as internationals return

Gibbins to captain side in Lyon as internationals return

Dave Rennie has made 12 changes to his starting XV as Glasgow Warriors return to Heineken Champions Cup action against Lyon this Saturday.

Rennie used last weekend’s victory over the Scarlets as an opportunity to rest several players and welcomes a dozen internationals back to his match day 23, as well as captain Callum Gibbins.

Adam Ashe is rewarded with his excellent form with a place in the back-row alongside Gibbins, with Matt Fagerson also returning.

Both Rob Harley and Jonny Gray missed Glasgow’s famous victory over the Scarlets last weekend and are brought into the engine room for the trip to France.

Oli Kebble’s dominant performance off the bench at Scostoun last weekend made headlines and he starts this Saturday. D’Arcy Rae keeps his spot at tight-head and they will both prop down either side of the returning Fraser Brown.

It’s a brand new back-three. Stuart Hogg and Tommy Seymour come in after impressing in Scotland shirts this Autumn, while DTH van der Merwe is back having helped Canada qualify for the Rugby World Cup last month.

Pete Horne starts alongside Nick Grigg in midfield, while his brother George is joined at half-back by Adam Hastings.

Ali Price and Huw Jones are two more Scotland internationals who will look to make an impact off the bench when called upon.

Glasgow Warriors Head Coach Dave Rennie, said: “It’s exciting to be back playing in Europe.

“We’re really proud of our performances during the international window and to get 16 points against top opposition was really pleasing.

“We’ve picked a 23 based on form for both club and country and we’re looking forward to the challenge Lyon will present.”

Glasgow Warriors team to play Lyon in the Heineken Champions Cup at the Matmut Stadium, Saturday 8 December, kick-off 1pm (UK Time) – live on BT Sport. You can follow the game on Twitter @GlasgowWarriors. Glasgow Warriors appearances in brackets:

1. Oli Kebble (19)
2. Fraser Brown (82)
3. D’Arcy Rae (51)
4. Rob Harley (194)
5. Jonny Gray (93)
6. Adam Ashe (61)
7. Callum Gibbins (C) (25)
8. Matt Fagerson (34)

9. George Horne (29)
10. Adam Hastings (17)
11. DTH van der Merwe (108)
12. Pete Horne (147)
13. Nick Grigg (50)
14. Tommy Seymour (121)
15. Stuart Hogg (109)


16. George Turner (30)
17. Jamie Bhatti (32)
18. Siua Halanukonuka (18)
19. Tim Swinson (114)
20. Chris Fusaro (151)
21. Ali Price (64)
22. Huw Jones (13)
23. Niko Matawalu (101)

Not available due to injury: Zander Fagerson (ankle), Rory Hughes (shoulder), Sam Johnson (knee), Lee Jones (knee) and Lelia Masaga (calf).

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.