Eight Warriors selected for Six Nations finale

Eight Warriors selected for Six Nations finale

A Scotland squad containing eight Glasgow Warriors will take to the field at the Stade de France on Friday night, as Gregor Townsend’s side looks to finish the 2021 Guinness Six Nations on a high.

With the original fixture having been postponed due to breaches in COVID-19 protocol by members of the France squad, Townsend’s side will be looking to become the first Scotland squad to win in Paris since the Five Nations-winning team of 1999.

George Turner returns to the starting XV after coming off the bench against Italy last time out, having impressed with his dynamism around the field in the tournament to date.

He joins Glasgow team-mate Zander Fagerson in the front-row, as the tight-head looks to make a statement in the competition for British and Irish Lions selection.

Matt Fagerson lines up at number eight once more, with his tally of 56 carries more than any other Scottish player in the 2021 campaign thus far.

Behind the scrum, Ali Price is restored at scrum-half after an impressive cameo off the bench last weekend; the scrum-half trails only Antoine Dupont in the try assists rankings, having created three scores in Scotland’s four outings.

Sam Johnson keeps his place at inside centre, having added a well-earned try to a performance that showcased his direct running and impressive distribution last weekend.

Oli Kebble returns to the matchday 23 after a two-match absence, as the loose-head looks to make a powerful impact from the bench.

There’s a return to Scotland duty for Adam Hastings after nearly five months away from the international arena, with the fly-half returning to the dark blue jersey for the first time since sustaining an injury against Wales back in October.

Huw Jones completes the Glasgow contingent, with the centre having made a staggering 217 metres with ball in hand in the victory over Italy last time out.

Scotland team to play France at Stade de France in the 2021 Guinness Six Nations
Friday 26 March (kick-off 8pm, UK time) – live on BBC Sport

1. Rory Sutherland (Edinburgh) – 15 caps
2. George Turner (Glasgow Warriors) – 16 caps
3. Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) – 37 caps
4. Sam Skinner (Exeter) – 11 caps
5. Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh) – 44 caps
6. Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh) VICE CAPTAIN – 26 caps
7. Hamish Watson (Edinburgh) – 40 caps
8. Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) – 13 caps

9. Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) – 41 caps
10. Finn Russell (Racing 92) VICE CAPTAIN – 54 caps
11. Duhan van der Merwe (Edinburgh) – 9 caps
12. Sam Johnson (Glasgow Warriors) – 17 caps
13. Chris Harris (Gloucester) – 27 caps
14. Darcy Graham (Edinburgh) – 18 caps
15. Stuart Hogg CAPTAIN (Exeter Chiefs) 84 caps

16. David Cherry (Edinburgh) – 4 caps
17. Oli Kebble (Glasgow Warriors) – 7 caps
18. Simon Berghan (Edinburgh) – 30 caps
19. Alex Craig (Gloucester) – 1 cap
20. Nick Haining (Edinburgh) – 7 caps
21. Scott Steele (Harlequins) – 4 caps
22. Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors) – 22 caps
23. Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors) – 30 caps

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.