Eight Warriors named in Scotland squad for Samoa encounter

Eight Warriors named in Scotland squad for Samoa encounter

Scotland Head Coach Gregor Townsend has named a matchday squad containing eight Glasgow Warriors for Monday’s meeting with Samoa, as his side looks to bounce back from their opening Pool A defeat to Ireland.

Sam Johnson
retains his place at inside centre as one of two Warriors involved in the
starting XV, with the Dysart-born man set to win his eighth cap in the dark
blue jersey.

Jonny Gray
is the other Glasgow representative set to take to the field for the opening
kick-off in Kobe, as Scotland face Samoa in pool action for the second Rugby
World Cup in succession.

There are
six Warriors ready to make an impact from the replacements bench, with George
Horne in line for his first taste of Rugby World Cup action after replacing the
injured Ali Price in the number 21 shirt.

Hastings provides fly-half cover from the bench once more, whilst Ryan Wilson
drops to the bench having started the opening match of the tournament in

impressive cameo off the bench against Ireland sees Scott Cummings retained in
the matchday 23, with Zander Fagerson and Fraser Brown completing the Glasgow
contingent in for Monday’s encounter.

Scotland team to play Samoa at the Kobe Misaki Stadium, Rugby World Cup 2019
Monday 30 September (kick-off 11.15am BST, 7.15pm local time) – live on ITV/STV

15. Stuart Hogg VICE CAPTAIN (Exeter Chiefs) – 70 caps

14. Darcy Graham (Edinburgh) – 8 caps

13. Chris Harris (Gloucester) – 11 caps

12. Sam Johnson (Glasgow Warriors) – 7 caps

11. Sean Maitland (Saracens) – 43 caps

10. Finn Russell (Racing 92) – 47 caps

9. Greig Laidlaw VICE CAPTAIN (Clermont Auvergne) – 74 caps

1. Allan Dell (London Irish) – 26 caps

2. Stuart McInally CAPTAIN (Edinburgh) – 30 caps

3. Willem Nel (Edinburgh) – 32 caps

4. Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh) – 37 caps

5. Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors) – 53 caps

6. Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh) – 8 caps

7. Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh) – 12 caps

8. Blade Thomson (Scarlets) – 3 caps


16. Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors) – 43 caps

17. Gordon Reid (Ayrshire Bulls) – 38 caps

18. Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) – 22 caps

19. Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors) – 5 caps

20. Ryan Wilson (Glasgow Warriors) – 46 caps

21. George Horne (Glasgow Warriors) – 7 caps

22. Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors) – 14 caps

23. Duncan Taylor (Saracens) – 24 caps

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.