Eight Warriors named for first Test in Argentina

Eight Warriors named for first Test in Argentina

Scotland Head Coach Gregor Townsend has named eight Glasgow Warriors in the matchday 23 for Saturday evening’s clash with Argentina in Jujuy, the first Test match of the 2022 summer tour.

Only two players retain their place in the starting XV from Scotland A’s 45-5 win over Chile last weekend, as Scotland take on Los Pumas for the first time since the 2018 summer tour.

George Turner is named to start at hooker after recovering from illness, having played a part in each of Scotland’s fixtures in 2022 to date.

He’s joined by club-mate Zander Fagerson, as the British and Irish Lions tight-head makes his tenth consecutive appearance in a Scotland starting lineup.

Younger brother Matt is one of the two players to retain their jersey, packing down at number eight after returning from injury in Santiago last weekend.

Ali Price comes into the team to start at scrum-half, with the 29-year-old also named as vice-captain by Townsend for the match.

Sam Johnson makes it five Warriors in the starting XV, lining up at inside centre to win his 25th cap in the dark blue jersey.

On the bench, Rory Darge is in line to make his first appearance since sustaining a knee injury against the DHL Stormers back in April after being named amongst the replacements.

Ross Thompson is rewarded for a composed performance against Chile by being retained amongst the matchday 23, with the fly-half looking to add to his single cap won last October against Tonga.

The Glasgow contingent is completed by Sione Tuipulotu, as the centre covers the outside backs from the number 23 jersey.

Scotland kick-off the three Test series with Argentina this Saturday night live on Sky Sports, with kick-off scheduled for 8.10pm BST.

Scotland team to face Argentina at the Estadio 23 de Agosto, Jujuy, live on Sky Sports, Saturday 2 July – kick-off 8.10pm BST.

15. Rory Hutchinson – Northampton Saints – 5 caps
14. Darcy Graham – Edinburgh Rugby – 27 caps
13. Mark Bennett – Edinburgh Rugby – 24 caps
12. Sam Johnson – Glasgow Warriors – 24 caps
11. Duhan van der Merwe – Worcester Warriors – 16 caps
10. Blair Kinghorn – Edinburgh Rugby – 31 caps
9. Ali Price – Glasgow Warriors – (Vice-Captain) – 51 caps

1. Pierre Schoeman – Edinburgh Rugby – 9 caps
2. George Turner – Glasgow Warriors – 25 caps
3. Zander Fagerson – Glasgow Warriors – 47 caps
4. Grant Gilchrist – Edinburgh Rugby – (Captain) – 53 caps
5. Jonny Gray – Exeter Chiefs – 67 caps
6. Magnus Bradbury – Edinburgh Rugby – 18 caps
7. Luke Crosbie – Edinburgh Rugby – 1 cap
8. Matt Fagerson – Glasgow Warriors – 21 caps


16. Ewan Ashman – Sale Sharks – 2 caps
17. Rory Sutherland – Worcester Warriors – 18 caps
18. Javan Sebastian – Scarlets – 1 cap
19. Sam Skinner – Exeter Chiefs – 20 caps
20. Rory Darge – Glasgow Warriors – 4 caps
21. Ben White – London Irish – 4 caps
22. Ross Thompson – Glasgow Warriors – 1 cap
23. Sione Tiupulotu – Glasgow Warriors – 5 caps

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.