Co-captains start against Northampton

Co-captains start against Northampton

Callum Gibbins and Ryan Wilson are both named in the starting line-up for Glasgow Warriors’ final pre-season fixture at Franklin's Gardens tomorrow.

Head Coach Dave Rennie has made 13 changes from the side that beat Harlequins in Perth last Saturday with 19 internationals included in a 30-man squad.

Gibbins and Wilson start in a back-row alongside Rob Harley who was a substitute last weekend. International duo Jamie Bhatti and George Turner are called into the front row alongside D’Arcy Rae.

Scott Cummings and Greg Peterson start in the second-row.

George Horne and Adam Hastings combine at nine and ten, just as they did for Scotland on this year’s Summer Tour.

Tommy Seymour starts on the wing with last weekend’s Man of the Match Niko Matawalu named on the other side. Ruaridh Jackson starts at full-back.

Sam Johnson shifts from 13 to 12, with Alex Dunbar coming in at outside centre.

On the bench Nick Grigg and DTH van der Merwe are included, as is Andrew Davidson having joined on a short-term deal from Newcastle Falcons earlier this week.

Glasgow Warriors Head Coach Dave Rennie, said: “We had a lot of young men on the field last week and this is a chance for us to start filtering back in some of our international players, who have had a good three weeks of training.

“Northampton have named a strong side, which is great from our perspective and it gives us a chance to get a bit more clarity around where we’re at as a team and it’ll be a good test for individuals.

“We treat these games as trials, so it’s an opportunity for guys to impress and push for selection next week.

“Andrew Davidson is a good man and a good athlete and we’re looking forward to seeing how he goes.”

Season Ticket and Warrior Nation Members will recieve an email over the next 24 hours with details of how they can access the live stream of tomorrow’s game. Nick Heath and Rory Lawson will provide commentary from Franklin’s Gardens with coverage commencing at 7.15pm. Supporters who would like to become a Warrior Nation Member and get access to the game need to sign up before 5pm on Thursday 23 August HERE.

Glasgow Warriors team to play Northampton Saints at Franklin’s Gardens – Friday 18 August, 7.30pm. Season Ticket and Warrior Nation Members can watch LIVE on Glasgow Warriors TV.

1. Jamie Bhatti

2. George Turner

3. D’Arcy Rae

4. Scott Cummings

5. Greg Peterson

6. Rob Harley

7. Callum Gibbins (CC)

8. Ryan Wilson (CC)

9. George Horne

10. Adam Hastings

11. Niko Matawalu

12. Sam Johnson

13. Alex Dunbar

14. Tommy Seymour

15. Ruaridh Jackson


Kevin Bryce, Grant Stewart, Alex Allan, Oli Kebble, Adam Nicol, Andrew Davidson, Matt Smith, Adam Ashe, Nick Frisby, Brandon Thomson, Paddy Kelly, Nick Grigg, Robbie Nairn, DTH van der Merwe, Rory Hughes.

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.