11 Warriors selected for Scotland A

11 Warriors selected for Scotland A

A total of 11 Warriors have been named in the matchday 23 for Scotland A’s clash with Chile on Saturday night, in what marks the inaugural meeting between the two countries.

The first match of Scotland’s 2022 summer tour, the fixture marks the first time Scotland A have played a competitive fixture since a 16-16 draw with England Saxons at Scotstoun in February 2014.

Jamie Bhatti starts at loose-head for his first outing in the dark blue shirt this calendar year, having last been involved in a Scotland matchday 23 in November’s win over Japan at BT Murrayfield.

Scott Cummings returns from injury to start in the second-row, after being sidelined since mid-April after sustaining a knock in the win over Newcastle Falcons.

Similarly, Matt Fagerson makes his return to action after a spell on the sidelines, the number eight packing down in the back-row for the clash in Santiago.

George Horne starts at scrum-half, his tally of 17 caps the most of any back selected in the starting XV.

He partners club-mate Ross Thompson in the half-backs, the fly-half pulling on a Scotland shirt for the first time since his senior international debut against Tonga last October.

Sione Tuipulotu is selected at inside centre, with the midfielder also named as vice-captain by Head Coach Gregor Townsend.

The back-three sees Rufus McLean included on the wing, having made his return to action in last month’s 1872 Cup match at BT Murrayfield.

Ollie Smith starts at full-back, as the former Ayr man is rewarded for an outstanding 2021/22 campaign in Glasgow colours.

After missing out on initial selection for the touring party, Johnny Matthews is named on the bench after being called up to the squad prior to departure for South America.

Murphy Walker pulls on a senior Scotland shirt for the first time, with the former Dundee Eagle named as the replacement tight-head by Townsend and his coaching team.

Ali Price completes the Glasgow contingent, the 2021 British and Irish Lion providing cover at scrum-half.

The non-cap fixture is live on Premier Sports this weekend, with kick-off at 9pm BST.

Scotland A team to face Chile at the Estadio Santa Laura Universidad SEK, Santiago, live on Premier Sports, Saturday 25 June – kick-off 9pm BST.

15. Ollie Smith – Glasgow Warriors- 0 caps
14. Damian Hoyland – Edinburgh Rugby – 4 caps
13. Matt Currie – Edinburgh Rugby – 0 caps
12. Sione Tuipulotu – Glasgow Warriors- (Vice-Captain) – 5 caps
11. Rufus McLean – Glasgow Warriors – 2 caps
10. Ross Thompson – Glasgow Warriors – 1 cap
9. George Horne – Glasgow Warriors – 17 caps

1. Jamie Bhatti – Glasgow Warriors – 22 caps
2. Dave Cherry – Edinburgh Rugby – 5 caps
3. Javan Sebastian – Scarlets – 1 cap
4. Jamie Hodgson – Edinburgh Rugby – 5 caps
5. Scott Cummings – Glasgow Warriors – 21 caps
6. Ben Muncaster – Edinburgh Rugby – 0 caps
7. Luke Crosbie – Edinburgh Rugby- (Captain) – 1 cap
8. Matt Fagerson – Glasgow Warriors – 21 caps


16. Jonny Matthews – Glasgow Warriors – 0 caps
17. Pierre Schoeman – Edinburgh Rugby – 9 caps
18. Murphy Walker – Glasgow Warriors – 0 caps
19. Glen Young – Edinburgh Rugby – 0 caps
20. Magnus Bradbury – Edinburgh Rugby – 18 caps
21. Ali Price – Glasgow Warriors – 51 caps
22. Blair Kinghorn – Edinburgh Rugby – 31 caps
23. Mark Bennett – Edinburgh Rugby – 24 caps

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.