Darge in line for Scotland debut

Darge in line for Scotland debut

Scotland Head Coach Gregor Townsend has named six Glasgow Warriors in his matchday 23 to take on Wales in Cardiff on Saturday afternoon, as the men in blue look to build on last weekend’s thrilling 20-17 Calcutta Cup victory over England.

Five of the Warriors selected for the trip to Cardiff were also involved at BT Murrayfield last Saturday, with openside flanker Rory Darge coming into the squad for what would be his senior international debut.

Sione Tuipulotu is promoted from the bench to start at inside centre for the first time in a Scotland jersey, having worn the 13 jersey on his only previous start for Scotland against Tonga back in October.

Ali Price continues at scrum-half, extending his run of successive starts in the dark blue jersey to six consecutive matches.

Last weekend’s Player of the Match Matt Fagerson is the only Glasgow representative amongst the starting pack, with a barnstorming performance from the base of the scrum last time out having included a 100% tackle success rate and an average of five metres per carry.

Fagerson’s elder brother Zander rotates to the bench after starting last time out, as the British and Irish Lion looks to provide an impact whenever called upon by Townsend and his coaching team.

Club-mate George Turner likewise moves to the replacements for Saturday afternoon’s encounter, and will bring his dynamic style of play to proceedings at the Principality Stadium.

Darge is the only uncapped member of the Glasgow contingent, with the former Scotland U20 captain set for his Scotland debut after a momentous season to date; his tally of 22 defenders beaten in the URC sees him trail only Rufus McLean from Glasgow players, whilst only Tuipulotu and Jack Dempsey can claim to have carried more in a Glasgow shirt so far this campaign.

Those attending Glasgow’s match against Munster tomorrow night are reminded that the Calcutta Cup will be on display in the Clubhouse pre-match, with tickets still available for the clash at Scotstoun.

Scotland team to face Wales in the 2022 Guinness Six Nations at the Principality Stadium, live on BBC One, Saturday, 12 February – kick-off 2.15pm.

15. Stuart Hogg – Exeter Chiefs – (Captain) – 89 caps
14. Darcy Graham – Edinburgh Rugby – 23 caps
13. Chris Harris – Gloucester Rugby – 32 caps
12. Sione Tuipulotu – Glasgow Warriors – 2 caps
11. Duhan van der Merwe – Worcester Warriors – 14 caps
10. Finn Russell – Racing 92 – (Vice-Captain) – 59 caps
9. Ali Price – Glasgow Warriors – 47 caps

1. Pierre Schoeman – Edinburgh Rugby – 5 caps
2. Stuart McInally – Edinburgh Rugby – 44 caps
3. WP Nel – Edinburgh Rugby – 44 caps
4. Jonny Gray – Exeter Chiefs – 65 caps
5. Grant Gilchrist – Edinburgh Rugby – (Vice-Captain) – 49 caps
6. Sam Skinner – Exeter Chiefs – 16 caps
7. Hamish Watson – Edinburgh Rugby – 46 caps
8. Matt Fagerson – Glasgow Warriors – 18 caps


16. George Turner – Glasgow Warriors – 21 caps
17. Rory Sutherland – Worcester Warriors – 17 caps
18. Zander Fagerson – Glasgow Warriors – 43 caps
19. Magnus Bradbury – Edinburgh Rugby – 15 caps
20. Rory Darge – Glasgow Warriors – Uncapped
21. Ben White – London Irish – 1 cap
22. Blair Kinghorn – Edinburgh Rugby – 28 caps
23. Cameron Redpath – Bath Rugby – 1 cap

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.