Zander Fagerson returns to Scotland starting XV

Zander Fagerson returns to Scotland starting XV

A total of seven Glasgow Warriors players will start for Scotland against Wales in round two of the Guinness Six Nations on Saturday (11 February, kick-off 4.45pm), and another four will feature on the bench.

Zander Fagerson, is handed a starting place in the tighthead jersey, his first game since the United Rugby Championship round nine win (45-17) against Zebre Parma in December.

Meanwhile, the other starters all retain their positions after the 29-23 Calcutta Cup victory at Twickenham last weekend.

George Turner starts in the front row with Fagerson, at hooker, while in the engine room Richie Gray is selected for his 60th Scotland start. Matt Fagerson will earn his 30th Scotland cap from the back row, wearing the number eight jersey.

An all Glasgow centre-partnership is retained with Sione Tuipulotu and Huw Jones named, the starting Glasgow contingent is completed with Kyle Steyn on the wing.

On the bench, in the forwards, Fraser Brown and Jamie Bhatti provide front row cover, while Jack Dempsey is in line to add to his cap tally, having earned his fifth appearance against England. Once again, George Horne is selected as scrum-half cover, with the potential of winning his 20th cap if he takes to the field.



Saturday’s match will be held in support of the My Name’5 Doddie Foundation. The two nations will compete for The Doddie Weir Cup and Guinness have donated the Player of the Match medal to the foundation. It will be called the My Name’5 Doddie Foundation Player of the Match and will be presented by Doddie’s sons, Hamish, Angus and Ben.

If you are attending Saturday’s match and would like to support the foundation you can donate directly by scanning the QR code at the ‘Oor Doddie’ statue on Saturday which is located at the south-west corner of the stadium, near to the Macron Scottish Rugby Store.


Scotland team to face Wales in the Guinness Six Nations on Saturday 11 February at BT Murrayfield, kick-off 4.45pm, live on BBC One

1. Pierre Schoeman (Edinburgh Rugby) 17 caps

2. George Turner (Glasgow Warriors) 31 caps

3. Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) 54 caps

4. Richie Gray (Glasgow Warriors) 70 caps

5. Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh Rugby) – Vice Captain – 60 caps

6. Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby) – Captain – 37 caps

7. Luke Crosbie (Edinburgh Rugby) 3 caps

8. Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) 29 caps


9. Ben White (London Irish) 10 caps

10. Finn Russell (Racing 92) 66 caps

11. Duhan van der Merwe (Edinburgh Rugby) 24 caps

12. Sione Tuipulotu (Glasgow Warriors) 12 caps

13. Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors) 32 caps

14. Kyle Steyn (Glasgow Warriors) 6 caps

15. Stuart Hogg (Exeter Chiefs) 97 caps



16. Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors) 58 caps

17. Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors) 26 caps

18. WP Nel (Edinburgh Rugby) 51 caps

19. Jonny Gray (Exeter Chiefs) 73 caps

20. Jack Dempsey (Glasgow Warriors) 5 caps

21. George Horne (Glasgow Warriors) 19 caps

22. Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby) 39 caps

23. Chris Harris (Gloucester Rugby) 39 caps

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.