Two changes to starting XV for visit of Munster

Two changes to starting XV for visit of Munster

Dave Rennie has named a settled side as Glasgow Warriors welcome Munster to Scotstoun in the Guinness PRO14

The inclusion of Fraser Brown and Adam Ashe in the starting pack are the only changes to the starting XV from last weekend’s bonus-point win over Connacht in Galway, the Number 8 coming off the bench at the Sportsground to score what proved to be the match winning try.

Brown joins Oli Kebble and Zander Fagerson in the front-row. Behind them Rob Harley moves from the flank into the engine room to partner Jonny Gray.

Co-captains Callum Gibbins and Ryan Wilson complete the forward pack.

It is an unchanged back-line, Stuart Hogg will be looking to replicate his heroics on the west coast of Ireland at Scotstoun. He is joined in the backfield by try scorer against Connacht Tommy Seymour and DTH van der Merwe.

Peter Horne is joined in midfield by Nick Grigg. His younger brother starts at scrum-half, partnering Adam Hastings.

On the bench Ali Price and Matt Fagerson have both recovered from injury to be included in the match day 23.

Scotland international Jamie Bhatti is also named amongst the replacements.

Glasgow Warriors Head Coach Dave Rennie said: “Over the last year there has been a lot of changes week-to-week based on availability, rotating internationals and injuries so it is good to have some continuity from the game last week.

“Munster are a quality side and are consistently up at the top end of our league and in Europe based around a really strong pack.

“They are smart tactically, kick really well and look after the ball so our discipline will be important, but we’ve trained really positively this week and can’t wait to get back out in front of our vocal home support.”

Glasgow Warriors team to play Munster in the Guinness PRO14 at Scotstoun Stadium, Friday 7 September, kick off 7.35pm – live on Premier Sports 2. You can follow the game on Twitter @GlasgowWarriors. Glasgow Warriors appearances in brackets:

1. Oli Kebble (10)

2. Fraser Brown (76)

3. Zander Fagerson (70)

4. Rob Harley (185)

5. Jonny Gray (87)

6. Ryan Wilson (CC) (141)

7. Callum Gibbins (CC) (16)

8. Adam Ashe (53)

9. George Horne (21)

10. Adam Hastings (10)

11. DTH van der Merwe (102)

12. Peter Horne (139)

13. Nick Grigg (43)

14. Tommy Seymour (116)

15. Stuart Hogg (108)


16. George Turner (20)

17. Jamie Bhatti (27)

18. D’Arcy Rae (40)

19. Scott Cummings (39)

20. Matt Fagerson (26)

21. Ali Price (57)

22. Alex Dunbar (112)

23. Niko Matawalu (93)

Players unavailable due to injury: Brian Alainu’uese (back), Bruce Flockhart (shoulder), Chris Fusaro (head), Siua Halanukanuka (foot), Sam Johnson (head / knee), Huw Jones (wrist), Lee Jones (achilles), Lelia Masaga (shoulder), Kiran McDonald (hand) and Tim Swinson (lower limb).

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.