Three debutants for Scotland as McDowall named co-captain

Three debutants for Scotland as McDowall named co-captain

Three Glasgow Warriors will make their senior Scotland debut in Ottawa this weekend, after being named in a squad that will be co-captained by Stafford McDowall for the first time in the centre’s career.

Max Williamson and Gregor Brown will each win their first senior caps after being selected in the starting XV following outstanding campaigns in Glasgow’s BKT URC-winning season, whilst Nathan McBeth is selected amongst the replacements after linking up with the squad this week.

In total, eight Warriors will take to the field on Saturday night, as Scotland kick off their summer campaign in the Canadian capital for their first meeting with the men in red since the 2018 summer tour.

Amongst those eight is incoming signing Rory Sutherland, the loose-head prop lining up in the front-row for Gregor Townsend’s squad this weekend.

Williamson is selected in the engine room, the former Glasgow Hawk and Stirling County second-rower having impressed supporters, pundits and team-mates alike with a barnstorming debut campaign as a professional.

Fellow debutant Brown lines up on the blindside, the Aberdonian earning his first cap just a fortnight on from coming off the bench to help Franco Smith’s side lift the BKT URC trophy in Pretoria.

The matchday 23 is co-led by McDowall for the first time, the centre set for his first outing since May’s trip to South Africa after a season that saw him feature in 17 of the club’s 18 BKT URC fixtures in addition to making his Scotland and Guinness Six Nations debut.

Jamie Dobie joins his club-mate in the back-line, the Inverness-native selected to start on the wing for the first time in his senior international career.

McBeth is one of three Warriors awaiting their opportunity from the bench, the loose-head prop set for his first taste of senior international rugby after becoming a fixture in the front-row for Smith’s men.

Matt Fagerson wears the number 20 shirt, the back-rower having turned in a thunderous display in the BKT URC Grand Final to claim Player of the Match honours in the Warriors’ famous victory.

The man that lifted the trophy that night in Pretoria rounds out the Glasgow contingent selected, as Kyle Steyn is one of three backs selected by Gregor Townsend for the opening fixture.

Supporters can watch the match live on TNT Sport, with kick-off scheduled for 10pm UK time.

Scotland team to play Canada on Saturday 6 July at TD Place, Ottawa, (kick off 10pm BST / 5pm local) – live on TNT Sports (caps in brackets)

15. Harry Paterson – Edinburgh Rugby (1)
14. Jamie Dobie – Glasgow Warriors (2)
13. Matt Currie – Edinburgh Rugby (uncapped)
12. Stafford McDowall – Co-Captain – Glasgow Warriors (2)
11. Arron Reed – Sale Sharks (uncapped)
10. Ross Thompson – Edinburgh Rugby (3)
9. Gus Warr – Sale Sharks (uncapped)

1. Rory Sutherland – Glasgow Warriors (30)
2. Dylan Richardson – The Sharks (1)
3. Elliot Millar-Mills – Northampton Saints (3)
4. Max Williamson – Glasgow Warriors (uncapped)
5. Glen Young – Edinburgh Rugby (3)
6. Gregor Brown – Glasgow Warriors (uncapped)
7. Luke Crosbie – Co-Captain – Edinburgh Rugby (8)
8. Josh Bayliss – Bath Rugby (5)


16. Robbie Smith – Northampton Saints (uncapped)
17. Nathan McBeth – Glasgow Warriors (uncapped)
18. Will Hurd – Leicester Tigers (uncapped)
19. Ewan Johnson – Oyonnax (uncapped)
20. Matt Fagerson – Glasgow Warriors (44)
21. Ben Healy – Edinburgh Rugby (5)
22. Kyle Steyn – Glasgow Warriors (19)
23. Ross McCann – Edinburgh Rugby (uncapped)

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.