Three changes to starting XV for visit of Leinster

Three changes to starting XV for visit of Leinster

A Glasgow Warriors side showing three alterations from last weekend’s win over the Dragons will take to the field tomorrow night, as Danny Wilson’s men bring the curtain down on the 2020/21 regular season by welcoming Leinster to Scotstoun.

The Warriors could yet have one more fixture to play this season, with a place in the inaugural Guinness Rainbow Cup Final still up for grabs going into the final round of fixtures.

Two of the changes to the starting lineup come up front, as Fraser Brown and Enrique Pieretto are promoted from the bench to join Aki Seiuli in the front row.

Rob Harley and Scott Cummings continue their partnership in the second row, having each turned in typically industrious performances in the engine room last time out.

An unchanged back-row sees last weekend’s Player of the Match Rory Darge continue at openside, with Ryan Wilson and Matt Fagerson completing the triumvirate of loose forwards.

The only change to the back division sees George Horne come into the side at scrum-half, with Ross Thompson starting the match two points away from reaching a century of points for the club.

Sam Johnson once again starts at inside centre, partnering Nick Grigg in an all-international midfield pairing.

Adam Hastings continues at full-back after making more metres with ball in hand than any other player in the Guinness Rainbow Cup last weekend, joining Cole Forbes and Kyle Steyn – who both also made the top five for metres made – in the back three.

Niko Matawalu and D’arcy Rae are both in line for a final appearance in a Glasgow jersey at Scotstoun tomorrow night, after both men were named amongst the replacements by Wilson and his coaching team.

Rae joins Tom Lambert as the cover at prop, with George Turner rotating to the bench after starting – and scoring – on his last two appearances for Glasgow.

Kiran McDonald retains his place following his bonus-point-securing score in Cardiff, whilst there’s a return to the matchday 23 for Thomas Gordon as the flanker wears the number 20 shirt.

Stafford McDowall and Sean Kennedy complete the squad, the latter in line for his first Glasgow Warriors outing since March’s meeting with the Dragons at the Principality Stadium.

Speaking following selection, Head Coach Wilson told “Three good performances in recent weeks have given us an opportunity in this competition.

“We obviously face a very strong side in Leinster, however we approach this game with some confidence and are excited to challenge ourselves against the current Guinness PRO14 champions.

“We’ve continued our approach to this tournament, blending youth and experience. The boys have had a short training week but are looking forward to our final game at Scotstoun on Friday night.”

Glasgow Warriors team to face Leinster in the Guinness PRO14 Rainbow Cup, Friday 4 June, kick-off 8.15pm, live on Premier Sports 1. You can follow the action in our Live Match Centre at

1. Aki Seiuli (28)
2. Fraser Brown (108)
3. Enrique Pieretto (19)
4. Rob Harley (251)
5. Scott Cummings (77)
6. Ryan Wilson (191)
7. Rory Darge (3)
8. Matt Fagerson (70)

9. George Horne (65)
10. Ross Thompson (12)
11. Cole Forbes (5)
12. Sam Johnson (71)
13. Nick Grigg (90)
14. Kyle Steyn (30)
15. Adam Hastings (52)

16. George Turner (61)
17. Tom Lambert (4)
18. D’arcy Rae (85)
19. Kiran McDonald (36)
20. Thomas Gordon (36)
21. Sean Kennedy (17)
22. Stafford McDowall (27)
23. Niko Matawalu (137)

Unavailable for selection: Alex Allan, Hamish Bain, Jamie Dobie, Chris Fusaro, TJ Ioane, Huw Jones, Ian Keatley, Oli Kebble, Tommy Seymour.

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.