Six Warriors selected for Ireland showdown

Six Warriors selected for Ireland showdown

Scotland Head Coach Gregor Townsend has named six Glasgow Warriors in his matchday 23 for this weekend’s clash with Ireland at BT Murrayfield, as his side looks to get their Guinness Six Nations title ambitions back on track.

The men in blue return to action after a month without a fixture, following the postponement of their round three fixture with France due to a COVID-19 outbreak after a breach in the Les Bleus bio-bubble.

George Turner is once again named at hooker following his impressive start to the 2021 tournament, having impressed in both of Scotland’s outings to date with his lineout accuracy and dynamism around the field.

Scott Cummings’ remarkable run of matches in a Scotland jersey continues, as he lines up alongside former Glasgow team-mate Jonny Gray for the seventh consecutive fixture and Cummings’ 20th successive match for his country.

The back-row sees Matt Fagerson continue at number eight, having made 30 carries – more than any other Scottish player – in the tournament to date.

Two further Warriors are selected behind the scrum, as Ali Price is once again selected at scrum-half by Townsend.

Sam Johnson is named in a Scotland matchday squad for the first time in 2021, coming into the starting lineup to take the number 12 jersey.

Huw Jones completes the Warriors contingent, as he starts alongside incoming Glasgow signings Jamie Bhatti and Simon Berghan amongst the replacements.

Scotland team to play Ireland at BT Murrayfield in the 2021 Guinness Six Nations
Sunday 14 March (kick-off 3pm) – live on BBC Sport

15. Stuart Hogg (C) (Exeter Chiefs) – 82 caps

14. Sean Maitland (Saracens) – 51 caps
13. Chris Harris (Gloucester) – 25 caps
12. Sam Johnson (Glasgow Warriors) – 15 caps
11. Duhan van der Merwe (Edinburgh) – 7 caps

10. Finn Russell (Racing 92) – 53 caps
9. Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) – 39 caps

1. Rory Sutherland (Edinburgh) – 13 caps
2. George Turner (Glasgow Warriors) – 14 caps
3. WP Nel (Edinburgh) – 42 caps
4. Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors) – 19 caps
5. Jonny Gray (Exeter Chiefs) – 63 caps
6. Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh) – 24 caps
7. Hamish Watson (Edinburgh – 38 caps
8. Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) – 11 caps

16. David Cherry (Edinburgh) – 2 caps
17. Jamie Bhatti (Bath Rugby) – 16 caps
18. Simon Berghan (Edinburgh) – 28 caps
19. Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh) – 42 caps
20. Nick Haining (Edinburgh) – 5 caps
21. Scott Steele (Harlequins) – 2 caps
22. Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors) – 28 caps
23. Darcy Graham (Edinburgh) – 16 caps

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.