Six Warriors named for Calcutta Cup clash

Six Warriors named for Calcutta Cup clash

Scotland Head Coach Gregor Townsend has selected six Glasgow Warriors in his matchday 23 for this weekend’s encounter with England at BT Murrayfield, as his side looks to retain the world’s oldest international trophy.

Five of the Glasgow contingent are named in the starting XV for Saturday evening’s clash, with Scotland looking to get their Guinness Six Nations campaign off to a winning start in front of a capacity crowd at the home of Scottish rugby.

Having been a standout performer in last year’s historic win over the Auld Enemy at Twickenham, George Turner will be looking to once again make an impact as he starts at hooker.

British and Irish Lions tight-head Zander Fagerson joins club-mate Turner in the front-row, making his seventh consecutive start in the dark blue jersey.

Fresh from signing a new long-term contract extension with the Warriors, Matt Fagerson is selected at number eight, with only Hamish Watson having carried more times for Scotland during last year’s tournament.

Ali Price continues at scrum-half, having started every match during the Autumn Nations Series in the number nine shirt.

Sam Johnson lines up at inside centre, the 28-year-old earning his 22nd cap in the midfield three years on from his unforgettable solo score against England at Twickenham.

The Glasgow representation is completed by the inclusion of Sione Tuipulotu amongst the replacements, as the centre – who made his Scotland debut against Tonga in the Autumn Nations Series – looks to build upon last weekend’s Player of the Match-winning performance in the 42-20 victory away to Connacht.

Scotland team to face England in the 2022 Guinness Six Nations at BT Murrayfield, live on BBC One, Saturday, 5 February – kick-off 4.45pm.

15. Stuart Hogg – Exeter Chiefs – (Captain) – 88 caps
14. Darcy Graham – Edinburgh Rugby – 22 caps
13. Chris Harris – Gloucester Rugby – 31 caps
12. Sam Johnson – Glasgow Warriors – 21 caps
11. Duhan van der Merwe – Worcester Warriors – 13 caps

10. Finn Russell – Racing 92 – (Vice-Captain) – 58 caps
9. Ali Price – Glasgow Warriors – 46 caps

1. Rory Sutherland – Worcester Warriors – 16 caps
2. George Turner – Glasgow Warriors – 20 caps
3. Zander Fagerson – Glasgow Warriors – 42 caps
4. Jonny Gray – Exeter Chiefs – 64 caps
5. Grant Gilchrist – Edinburgh Rugby – 48 caps
6. Jamie Ritchie – Edinburgh Rugby – (Vice-Captain) – 31 caps
7. Hamish Watson – Edinburgh Rugby – 45 caps
8. Matt Fagerson – Glasgow Warriors – 17 caps


16. Stuart McInally – Edinburgh Rugby – 43 caps
17. Pierre Schoeman – Edinburgh Rugby – 4 caps
18. WP Nel – Edinburgh Rugby – 43 caps
19. Sam Skinner – Exeter Chiefs – 15 caps
20. Magnus Bradbury – Edinburgh Rugby – 14 caps
21. Ben White – London Irish – Uncapped
22 Blair Kinghorn – Edinburgh Rugby – 28 caps
23 Sione Tuipulotu – Glasgow Warriors – 1 cap

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.