Scotland U20 side named for Welsh visit

Scotland U20 side named for Welsh visit

Scotland U20 Head Coach Kenny Murray has named six Glasgow Warriors academy talents in his matchday 23 to take on Wales this weekend, as his side looks to build upon a promising performance in last weekend’s championship opener.

After earning a try bonus-point despite ultimately succumbing to defeat by England in round one, Murray’s squad will be looking to record their first win of 2022 when they travel to Colwyn Bay on Friday night.

Rhys Tait once again leads the squad from the openside flank, having topped the tackle charts with 14 against England last time out.

Max Williamson joins him in the pack, after an industrious performance that included eight carries and two offloads across the 80 minutes.

Christian Townsend will once again be pulling the strings at fly-half, after catching the eye with both ball in hand and with his kicking game in round one.

Duncan Munn retains his place at outside centre, the Boroughmuir Bears midfielder having only been denied a try by the intervention of the TMO.

Similarly, Ross McKnight continues on the wing after leading all Scotland players by making 93 metres with ball in hand during his 55 minutes on the field.

The Glasgow academy contingent is rounded out by Euan Cunningham, the Stirling County man having come off the bench for the final quarter last weekend.

It will be a first visit to Colwyn Bay since 2020 for Murray’s men, when current Glasgow Warriors Rufus McLean, Ollie Smith and Tom Lambert started in a Scotland side captained by Rory Darge.

Scotland U20 team to face Wales on Friday 11 February at Stadium ZipWorld, Colwyn Bay (kick-off 8pm, BBC iPlayer and S4C) 

15. Robin McClintock (Montpellier) (1)
14. Ross McKnight* (Stirling County/Glasgow Warriors) (3)
13. Duncan Munn** (Boroughmuir Bears/Glasgow Warriors) (1)
12. Andy Stirrat (GHA) (0)
11. Ollie Melville (Newcastle University) (5)
10. Christian Townsend* (Ayrshire Bulls/Glasgow Warriors) (6)
9. Murray Redpath (Newcastle University) (5)

1. Michael Jones* (Heriot’s Rugby/Edinburgh Rugby) (6)
2. Patrick Harrison* (Edinburgh Rugby) (5)
3. Gregor Scougall** (Currie Chieftains) (1)
4. Josh Taylor (Ealing Trailfinders) (0)
5. Max Williamson* (Stirling County/Glasgow Warriors) (5)
6. Olujare Oguntibeju (Ealing Trailfinders) (1)
7. Rhys Tait* (Boroughmuir Bears/Glasgow Warriors) (6) CAPTAIN
8. Matthew Deehan (Newcastle Falcons) (2)

16. Gregor Hiddleston (GHA) (1)
17. Ali Rodgers (Glasgow Hawks) (0)
18. Callum Norrie** (Strathallan School) (1)
19. Jake Spurway (Durham University) (1)
20. Robert Gordon (Exeter University) (0)
21. Jonty Cope (Durham University) (0)
22. Euan Cunningham* (Stirling County / Glasgow Warriors) (4)
23. Ben Evans* (Heriot’s Rugby/Edinburgh Rugby) (1)

*FOSROC Scottish Rugby Contracted Academy Player
**FOSROC Scottish Rugby Regional Academy Player

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.