Rory Darge set for co-captaincy debut

Rory Darge set for co-captaincy debut

Glasgow Warriors back-row player Rory Darge will make his Scotland co-captaincy debut this Saturday against France at Scottish Gas Murrayfield.

Head Coach Gregor Townsend names the flanker in the number seven jersey, alongside his Glasgow Warriors colleagues.

This is Darge’s first competitive match since the second 1872 Cup fixture at the end of December in Edinburgh.

The all-Glasgow back row division also includes Matt Fagerson and Jack Dempsey. Fagerson moves to the openside flank, while Dempsey is promoted from the bench into number 8, after last weekend’s 27-26 victory in Wales.

The starting pack includes a further three Warriors, with hooker George Turner, tighthead prop Zander Fagerson, and second row Scott Cummings all retaining their places from last weekend.

In the back line, the Glasgow Warriors contingent is also unchanged. Kyle Rowe wins his third cap, starting at full back in the absence of Blair Kinghorn and Ollie Smith. Kyle Steyn wears the 14 jersey, meanwhile Sione Tuipulotu and Huw Jones make up the centre pairing once again. Tuipulotu is vice-captain.

On the bench George Horne provides cover at scrum-half.

France arrive in Edinburgh having lost their opening game of the campaign, 17-38 to Ireland, and will be eager to put in a good performance as their new coaching set up continues to bed in.

Scotland team to play France in the Guinness Six Nations at Scottish Gas Murrayfield, Edinburgh, on Saturday 10 February 2024, kick-off 2.15pm – live on BBC


1. Pierre Schoeman (27)2. George Turner (41)3. Zander Fagerson (63)4. Grant Gilchrist (68)5. Scott Cummings (34)6. Matt Fagerson (40)7. Rory Darge – Co-Captain (15)8. Jack Dempsey (16)

9. Ben White (19)
10. Finn Russell – Co-Captain (76)

11. Duhan van der Merwe (35)
12. Sione Tuipulotu – Vice-Captain (23)
13. Huw Jones (44)
14. Kyle Steyn (15)
15. Kyle Rowe (2)


16. Ewan Ashman (13)17. Alec Hepburn (1)18. Elliot Millar-Mill (1)19. Sam Skinner (31)20. Andy Christie (4)21. George Horne (27)22. Ben Healy (4)23. Cam Redpath (10)

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.