Lions return for Leinster clash

Lions return for Leinster clash

British and Irish Lions duo Zander Fagerson and Ali Price will return to action for Glasgow Warriors tomorrow night, after the pair were named in the starting XV for tomorrow night’s Plaster It Purple clash with Leinster at Scotstoun.

Head Coach Danny Wilson makes seven changes in total from last weekend’s victory over Zebre Parma, as the Warriors look to make it four successive wins in the 2021/22 United Rugby Championship.

There are fewer than 50 tickets left for tomorrow’s clash – click here!

Fagerson’s inclusion is the only alteration to the front-row, as the tight-head comes into the starting lineup to pack down alongside Jamie Bhatti and Johnny Matthews.

Rob Harley will make his first start of the season after being selected in the second-row alongside Richie Gray, the latter having stolen at least one lineout in each of Glasgow’s opening four fixtures.

Jack Dempsey comes back into the squad after missing the trip to Italy last weekend, with the number eight part of a triumvirate completed by captain Ryan Wilson and openside Rory Darge.

Behind the scrum, Duncan Weir partners the returning Price in the half-backs, having contributed seven points with the boot last weekend.

Sam Johnson comes back into the midfield at inside centre, which sees Sione Tuipulotu shift to outside centre after scoring his first try for the club in Parma last time out.

Rufus McLean – who leads the league in clean breaks and sits second for metres gained – is the only member of the back three to retain his place, with Kyle Steyn and Ross Thompson completing the starting XV.

The replacements see a trio of internationals provide the front-row cover, as Scotland duo George Turner and Oli Kebble are joined by Argentinian tight-head Enrique Pieretto.

Lewis Bean wears the number 19 jersey, whilst Matt Fagerson covers the back-row after missing last weekend’s win due to illness.

George Horne and Nick Grigg each rotate to the bench after starting in Parma, as does Cole Forbes, who starts amongst the replacements for the first time in his Glasgow career.

Speaking following selection, Head Coach Wilson told “We’re pleased to be able to welcome our British and Irish Lions back for tomorrow’s match.

“Both Ali [Price] and Zander [Fagerson] have trained well since returning to our environment and both men are eager to play their part for the team.

“Leinster will be a big test for our squad – they’ve been the benchmark for the rest of the competition in recent years and we know they’ll present a physical challenge tomorrow night.

“It’s important for us to finish this first block of fixtures in the right manner, and we want to build on our three straight wins ahead of the international window.”

Glasgow Warriors team to face Leinster at Scotstoun Stadium, Friday 22 October, kick-off 7.35pm, live on Premier Sports 1. You can also follow the match in our Live Match Centre at

1. Jamie Bhatti (51)
2. Johnny Matthews (14)
3. Zander Fagerson (101)
4. Rob Harley (254)
5. Richie Gray (65)
6. Ryan Wilson (C) (196)
7. Rory Darge (7)
8. Jack Dempsey (3)

9. Ali Price (97)
10. Duncan Weir (110)
11. Rufus McLean (13)
12. Sam Johnson (76)
13. Sione Tuipulotu (4)
14. Kyle Steyn (34)
15. Ross Thompson (18)

16. George Turner (63)
17. Oli Kebble (59)
18. Enrique Pieretto (21)
19. Lewis Bean (9)
20. Matt Fagerson (72)
21. George Horne (70)
22. Nick Grigg (93)
23. Cole Forbes (10)

Unavailable for selection: Simon Berghan, Fraser Brown, Scott Cummings, Tom Lambert, Kiran McDonald, Ewan McQuillin, Ratu Tagive.

Seats listed on the Ticket Exchange by Season Ticket Members (highlighted in RED) will be available to buy until 7.35pm tonight [Thursday 21 October]. If the seat is not sold, it will be valid for Season Ticket Members to use.

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.