Johnson returns to starting lineup

Johnson returns to starting lineup

Sam Johnson returns to the Glasgow Warriors starting XV for this weekend’s trip to Treviso to face Benetton Rugby, live on Premier Sports kick-off 2pm UK Time.

The centre came off the bench against Edinburgh at Scotstoun last Saturday having recovered from a knee injury and starts at inside centre in Italy.

He is joined in midfield by Stafford McDowall outside of a half-back pairing of George Horne and Adam Hastings.

Ruaridh Jackson is another one of ten changes to the starting line-up at full back and is joined in the back three by Niko Matawalu and Robbie Nairn.

Jamie Bhatti and Siua Halanukonuka come in to the front row, starting either side of Grant Stewart. Behind them Tim Swinson and Scott Cummings pack down in the engine room.

Ryan Wilson captains the side. He is joined by Chris Fusaro and Adam Ashe at the back of the scrum.

On the bench, Alex Allan returns from suspension and Lee Jones is fit again having recovered from a knee injury.

Glasgow Warriors Head Coach Dave Rennie said: “We’ve had a good week of preparation and are looking forward to the challenge of Benetton away.

“Keiran Crowley has done an excellent job around recruitment and development and they are now a genuine play-off contender.

“Our strength has been our ability to convert opportunities, but we haven’t been clinical enough over the past couple of weeks making more handling errors than in the previous five games. That needs to be better this week.”

Glasgow Warriors team to play Benetton Rugby in the Guinness PRO14, Stadio Comunale di Monigo, Saturday 5 January, kick-off 2pm (UK time) – live on Premier Sports. You can follow the game on Twitter @GlasgowWarriors. Glasgow Warriors appearances in brackets:

1. Jamie Bhatti (36)

2. Grant Stewart (14)

3. Siua Halanukonuka (22)

4. Tim Swinson (118)

5. Scott Cummings (46)

6. Ryan Wilson (C) (148)

7. Chris Fusaro (155)

8. Adam Ashe (63)

9. George Horne (32)

10. Adam Hastings (21)

11. Niko Matawalu (105)

12. Sam Johnson (43)

13. Stafford McDowall (6)

14. Robbie Nairn (2)

15. Ruairdh Jackson (145)


16. Kevin Bryce (18)

17. Alex Allan (82)

18. D’Arcy Rae (54)

19. Rob Harley (198)

20. Matt Smith (22)

21. Nick Frisby (9)

22. Brandon Thomson (15)

23. Lee Jones (80)

Unavailable players: Fraser Brown (knee) Alex Dunbar (thigh), Zander Fagerson (ankle), Stuart Hogg (hip), Peter Horne (knee) Oli Kebble (chest), George Turner (ankle)

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.