Jack Dempsey handed first Guinness Six Nations start

Jack Dempsey handed first Guinness Six Nations start

Glasgow Warriors will see eight of their squad members starting for Scotland this Sunday, when the men’s national team face Ireland in the Guinness Six Nations at BT Murrayfield (kick-off 3pm).

Of those eight starters, back row player Jack Dempsey is given his first Guinness Six Nations start.

Head coach Gregor Townsend has retained his other Glasgow starters from the closely fought loss to France a fortnight ago – hooker George Turner, tighthead prop Zander Fagerson, lock Richie Gray, back row Matt Fagerson, centres Sione Tuipulotu and Huw Jones – the 2023 championship’s current leading try scorer – and winger Kyle Steyn.

With Dempsey selected at number 8, having previously featured from the bench against England, Wales, and France, Matt Fagerson moves to the openside flank. This is Dempsey’s second Scotland start, his first coming against Argentina in the 2022 Autumn Nations Series.

A further five Glasgow Warriors replacements can feature from the bench. Scotland have opted for a full Warriors replacement front row with Fraser Brown, Jamie Bhatti, and Simon Berghan selected. Berghan wears the number 18 jersey in place of WP Nel this time. Scott Cummings is also named on the bench for a chance to earn his first Scotland cap from this campaign.

The Warrior’s contingent is completed with Ali Price wearing 21, as replacement scrum half. If Price does come on, on Sunday, he will earn his 60th Scotland cap.

In addition, former Glasgow Warrior, Stuart Hogg, is in line to make his 100th Scotland appearance, starting at full back.

Scotland team to face Ireland in the Guinness Six Nations on Sunday 12 March at BT Murrayfield, Edinburgh, kick-off 3pm GMT – live on BBC One


  1. Pierre Schoeman (Edinburgh Rugby) 19 caps
  2. George Turner (Glasgow Warriors) 33 caps
  3. Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) 56 caps
  4. Richie Gray (Glasgow Warriors) 72 caps
  5. Jonny Gray (Exeter Chiefs) – Vice-Captain – 75 caps
  6. Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) 31 caps
  7. Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby) – Captain – 39 caps
  8. Jack Dempsey (Glasgow Warriors) 7 caps
  9. Ben White (London Irish) 12 caps
  10. Finn Russell (Racing 92) 68 caps
  11. Duhan van der Merwe (Edinburgh Rugby) 26 caps
  12. Sione Tuipulotu (Glasgow Warriors) 14 caps
  13. Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors) 34 caps
  14. Kyle Steyn (Glasgow Warriors) 8 caps
  15. Stuart Hogg (Exeter Chiefs) – Vice-Captain – 99 caps
  16. Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors) 60 caps
  17. Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors) 28 caps
  18. Simon Berghan (Glasgow Warriors) 32 caps
  19. Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors) 23 caps
  20. Hamish Watson (Edinburgh Rugby) 55 caps
  21. Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) 59 caps
  22. Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby) 41 caps
  23. Chris Harris (Gloucester Rugby) 41 caps

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.