15 Warriors selected in Scotland squad for Guinness Six Nations

15 Warriors selected in Scotland squad for Guinness Six Nations

Scotland Head Coach Gregor Townsend has named 15 Glasgow Warriors in his squad for the 2024 Guinness Six Nations, ahead of the tournament getting underway in three weeks’ time.

Glasgow Warriors once again contribute more players to the national setup than any other club, with Franco Smith’s squad preparing for Friday night’s pivotal Investec Champions Cup clash with Toulon at Scotstoun.

Three of the Glasgow Warriors contingent will be looking to add to their single caps to date, including the club’s top try-scorer – and top try-scorer in the 2023/24 BKT United Rugby Championship to date – Johnny Matthews, following the hooker’s international debut against Romania at the 2023 Rugby World Cup.

Kyle Rowe also returns to the fold 18 months on from making his senior Scotland debut in Argentina, the winger rewarded for his electric form in a Glasgow shirt so far in 2023/24 that has seen him cross for five tries in 10 outings to date.

Stafford McDowall is likewise included after a strong start to the current campaign, with the centre having made his senior international debut against Italy at Scottish Gas Murrayfield last summer.

At the other end of the experience scale, Richie Gray is the most-capped Warrior selected by Townsend, as the second-rower competes to add to his tally of 78 caps for Scotland to date.

Gray’s fellow British and Irish Lion, Zander Fagerson, is joined by brother Matt in the squad, having become just the fourth set of siblings to make 100 appearances for Glasgow Warriors earlier this season.

Sione Tuipulotu and Huw Jones are both selected amongst the midfield options alongside club-mate McDowall, the pair having been voted as the centre partnership in the 2023 Guinness Six Nations Team of the Tournament.

George Turner joins Matthews amongst the cohort of hookers selected, with Jamie Bhatti included alongside Zander Fagerson in the props chosen by Head Coach Townsend.

Two of Glasgow’s standouts from Saturday’s performance away to Exeter will once again link up in Scotland colours, Scott Cummings and George Horne having sparked the move that culminated in Tuipulotu’s try at Sandy Park last time out.

Kyle Steyn and Jack Dempsey are both selected after recovering from their respective injuries to re-join full training with Glasgow Warriors in recent weeks, with Rory Darge rounding out the Glasgow contingent after being selected despite currently being sidelined with a knee injury.

Scotland open their campaign away to Wales on Saturday 3 February, kicking off at the Principality Stadium at 4.45pm.

Scotland squad for the 2024 Guinness Six Nations (caps in brackets):


Ewan Ashman – Edinburgh Rugby (12)
Josh Bayliss – Bath Rugby (5)
Jamie Bhatti – Glasgow Warriors (34)
Andy Christie – Saracens (4)
Luke Crosbie – Edinburgh Rugby (7)
Scott Cummings – Glasgow Warriors (33)
Jack Dempsey – Glasgow Warriors (15)
Rory Darge – Glasgow Warriors (15)
Grant Gilchrist – Edinburgh Rugby (68)
Richie Gray – Glasgow Warriors (78)
Matt Fagerson – Glasgow Warriors (40)
Zander Fagerson – Glasgow Warriors (62)
Alec Hepburn – Exeter Chiefs (uncapped)
Will Hurd – Leicester Tigers (uncapped)
Johnny Matthews – Glasgow Warriors (1)
WP Nel – Edinburgh Rugby (61)
Jamie Ritchie – Edinburgh Rugby (46)
Pierre Schoeman – Edinburgh Rugby (26)
Sam Skinner – Edinburgh Rugby (30)
George Turner – Glasgow Warriors (40)
Glen Young – Edinburgh Rugby (3)


Adam Hastings – Gloucester Rugby (27)
Ben Healy – Edinburgh Rugby (4)
George Horne – Glasgow Warriors (26)
Darcy Graham – Edinburgh Rugby (39)
Rory Hutchinson – Northampton Saints (8)
Huw Jones – Glasgow Warriors (43)
Blair Kinghorn – Toulouse (50)
Stafford McDowall – Glasgow Warriors  (1)
Harry Paterson – Edinburgh Rugby (uncapped)
Ali Price – Edinburgh Rugby (66)
Cameron Redpath – Bath Rugby (9)
Arron Reed – Sale Sharks (uncapped)
Kyle Rowe – Glasgow Warriors (1)
Finn Russell – Bath Rugby (75)
Kyle Steyn – Glasgow Warriors (15)
Sione Tuipulotu – Glasgow Warriors (22)
Duhan van der Merwe – Edinburgh Rugby (34)
Ben White – Toulon (18)

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.