15 internationals in squad for Ospreys encounter

15 internationals in squad for Ospreys encounter

Glasgow Warriors have named an experienced side for tomorrow’s Guinness PRO14 clash against Ospreys at Scotstoun Stadium (kick-off 7.35pm).

Deputising for Dave Rennie, who is in New Zealand at a family wedding, Assistant Coach Kenny Murray has been boosted by the return of ten players from Scotland’s Guinness Six Nations squad.

Rob Harley, Matt Smith and Adam Ashe both return from camp to start in the back-row, Harley captaining the side from the blind-side flank.

Tim Swinson has also been released to play, partnering Scott Cummings in the engine room behind a front-row of Alex Allan, Kevin Bryce and Siua Halanukonuka.

Lee Jones starts on one wing with Niko Matawalu on the opposite side, the Fijian scored a hat-trick off the bench in the reverse fixture at the Liberty Stadium. Ruaridh Jackson starts at full-back.

Nick Grigg was named Man of the Match in Swansea and he starts alongside Stafford McDowall in midfield.

On the bench, Partnership Player Thomas Gordon is in line to make his Warriors debut after coming through the Fosroc Scottish Rugby Academy and impressing for Currie Chieftains in the Tennent’s Premiership this season.

Fosroc Scottish Rugby Academy Hooker Robbie Smith could also play his first game for the club.

Glasgow Warriors Assistant Coach Kenny Murray said: “This period of the season is crucial for us. We want to finish top of our Conference and secure a home semi-final and we’re confident we can still achieve that.

“Ospreys have been playing some good stuff and are right on our tails, so we know we’re going to have to be at our best.

“We went to Swansea earlier in the season with a squad not dissimilar to the one on the park tomorrow night and played really well, so we’ll take confidence from that.”

Glasgow Warriors team to play Ospreys in the Guinness PRO14, Scotstoun Stadium, Friday 25 January, kick-off 7.35pm – live on Premier Sports 1. You can follow the game on Twitter @GlasgowWarriors. Glasgow Warriors appearances in brackets:

1. Alex Allan (85)
2. Kevin Bryce (21)
3. Siua Halanukonuka (24)
4. Tim Swinson (121)
5. Scott Cummings (48)
6. Rob Harley (C) (201)
7. Matt Smith (24)
8. Adam Ashe (65)

9. Nick Frisby (8)
10. Brandon Thomson (17)
11. Niko Matawalu (107)
12. Stafford McDowall (7)
13. Nick Grigg (54)
14. Lee Jones (81)
15. Ruaridh Jackson (146)


16. Robbie Smith (0)
17. Jamie Bhatti (37)
18. D’Arcy Rae (57)
19. Tevita Tameilau (3)
20. Thomas Gordon (0)
21. Robbie Nairn (3)
22. Alex Dunbar (118)
23. Rory Hughes (39)

Unavailable players:

Fraser Brown (knee), Matt Fagerson (shoulder), Zander Fagerson (ankle), Bruce Flockhart (ankle), Chris Fusaro (neck), Callum Gibbins (ankle/knee), George Horne (shoulder), Oli Kebble (illness), DTH van der Merwe (hip), Grant Stewart (shoulder) and George Turner (ankle).

Jonny Gray, Ryan Wilson, Sam Johnson, Adam Hastings, Stuart Hogg, Pete Horne, Huw Jones, Ali Price, Tommy Seymour (All Scotland).

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.