Travelling squad confirmed for South African double-header

Travelling squad confirmed for South African double-header

A 36-man playing group will board the plane to Durban later today, as Glasgow Warriors travel south in pursuit of back-to-back victories over South African opposition.

Of the 36 selected to travel, the club’s coaching team have elected for a split of 22 forwards and 14 backs, as the group prepares to face the CellC Sharks and Emirates Lions on consecutive weekends.

Club captain Kyle Steyn will travel with the squad as he continues his phased return to play, as does Jamie Dobie, the scrum-half having returned to full training this week following a hamstring injury sustained during his summer loan spell with Bay of Plenty.

Ross Thompson and Ollie Smith are likewise included in the travelling squad after recovering from off-season injuries, the pair having turned out for Ayrshire Bulls in the FOSROC Super6 over the last two weekends.

Up front, three players are included who are yet to make their debuts in Glasgow colours; Alex Samuel and Angus Fraser would be making their first professional appearance if selected for action in either match, whilst Tongan international Sione Vailanu is in line for his first outing for the Warriors should he be selected.

Supporters are invited to join non-travelling members of the squad at The Old Schoolhouse to watch this weekend’s clash with the CellC Sharks (Saturday 15 October, kick-off 3.05pm UK time), with a Q&A and raffle in support of Glasgow Children’s Hospital Charity.

Glasgow Warriors squad to travel to South Africa

Forwards: Lewis Bean, Jamie Bhatti, Fraser Brown, Gregor Brown, Scott Cummings, Jack Dempsey, JP du Preez, Matt Fagerson, Zander Fagerson, Angus Fraser, Thomas Gordon, Richie Gray, Oli Kebble, Sintu Manjezi, Johnny Matthews, Nathan McBeth, Alex Samuel, Lucio Sordoni, George Turner, Sione Vailanu, Murphy Walker, Ryan Wilson.

Backs: Sebastian Cancelliere, Jamie Dobie, Cole Forbes, George Horne, Sam Johnson, Tom Jordan, Stafford McDowall, Josh McKay, Domingo Miotti, Ali Price, Ollie Smith, Kyle Steyn, Ross Thompson, Sione Tuipulotu.

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.