Squad named for Newcastle clash

Squad named for Newcastle clash

Glasgow Warriors Head Coach Danny Wilson has named a 29-man squad for tomorrow night’s The Famous Grouse Pre-Season Challenge, as the club welcomes supporters back to Scotstoun for the first time since February 2020.

The starting XV for the club’s opening match of the 2021/22 pre-season will be confirmed tomorrow afternoon, with an exciting mix of experienced heads and fresh faces in contention to take to the field for the opening kick-off.

Four of the club’s summer arrivals are named amongst the 29-strong playing group, with Murray McCallum and Lewis Bean both selected as part of the pack options available to Wilson and his coaching team.

Sione Tuipulotu and the returning Duncan Weir complete the quartet of summer signings included in the squad for tomorrow night’s clash, with Weir set for his first appearance in Glasgow colours since 2016.

The Warrior Nation will also have the opportunity to see the next generation of Glasgow talents in action, with four of the club’s FOSROC Scottish Rugby Academy talents selected by Wilson.

Tight-head Murphy Walker, second-rower Max Williamson, back-rower Rory Jackson and winger Finlay Callaghan will all pull on the Glasgow jersey for the first time, as they press their respective cases for further involvement in the upcoming United Rugby Championship.

In addition, two standout performers from the FOSROC Super6 will be involved at Scotstoun after being drafted into the playing squad; former Glasgow prop George Thornton returns to the fold after joining Ayrshire Bulls this summer, whilst winger Logan Trotter is included after impressing for Stirling County in recent weeks.

Tom Lambert, Johnny Matthews and Grant Stewart complete the front-row options available to Wilson and the coaching group, whilst Richie Gray, Rob Harley and Scott Cummings bring a wealth of club and international experience to the engine room.

Club co-captain Ryan Wilson will lead the squad from the back-row, with the 50-cap Scotland international joined by Kiran McDonald, Rory Darge and Thomas Gordon.

Sean Kennedy and Jamie Dobie will dove-tail as the scrum-halves, with the 2020/21 McCrea Financial Services Player of the Season Ross Thompson joining Weir as the options at number 10.

The midfield sees Tuipulotu join Stafford McDowall and Pete Horne, as Ratu Tagive, Cole Forbes, Rufus McLean and Ollie Smith complete the squad as the back-three options.

Speaking to glasgowwarriors.org following selection, Head Coach Danny Wilson said: “Tomorrow gives us the first opportunity to give our guys meaningful game time and to test out a number of combinations ahead of the start of the new season.

“We’ve named a blended squad which will offer us the chance to see a variety of players including a number of our new signings, academy players and some Super6 talent.

“We’re looking forward to welcoming fans back to Scotstoun and the challenge that Newcastle will bring tomorrow evening.”

Glasgow Warriors squad to face Newcastle Falcons in The Famous Grouse Pre-Season Challenge, Friday 3 September, kick-off 7pm. You can follow the match in our Live Match Centre at glasgowwarriors.org.


Tom Lambert, Murray McCallum, George Thornton*, Murphy Walker**, Johnny Matthews, Grant Stewart, Lewis Bean, Richie Gray, Rob Harley, Scott Cummings, Max Williamson**, Kiran McDonald, Rory Darge, Thomas Gordon, Rory Jackson**, Ryan Wilson (C).


Sean Kennedy, Jamie Dobie, Duncan Weir, Ross Thompson, Pete Horne, Stafford McDowall, Sione Tuipulotu, Logan Trotter*, Finlay Callaghan**, Ratu Tagive, Rufus McLean, Cole Forbes, Ollie Smith.

*denotes FOSROC Super6
**denotes FOSROC Scottish Rugby Academy

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.