Seven Warriors in Scotland squad for Rugby World Cup opener

Seven Warriors in Scotland squad for Rugby World Cup opener

Scotland head coach Gregor Townsend has named seven Glasgow Warriors in his matchday squad for Saturday’s opening Rugby World Cup match, which will see the men in blue take on Ireland in Yokohama.

The Pool A
encounter kicks off at 8.45am (UK time) in Japan’s second-largest city, with the
stadium also the venue for the 2019 Rugby World Cup final in six weeks’ time.

There are
four Glasgow representatives in the starting XV, with all bar one having played
at the 2015 edition in England.

Sam Johnson
is the sole tournament debutant of the quartet, as he starts at inside centre
to win his seventh cap.

Seymour wins the battle for the number 14 jersey to start in the back three,
with the winger having scored in every one of his appearances at a Rugby World
Cup to date.

In the pack,
Ryan Wilson is named at number eight having captained Scotland for the first
time in their final Rugby World Cup warm-up match against Georgia a fortnight

He is joined
in the pack by Jonny Gray, who will win his 53rd cap against the
Irish on Sunday morning.

further Warriors will be ready to make an impact from the bench as required, including
the returning Fraser Brown – the hooker will make his first appearance since
the Guinness PRO14 final should he be called upon by Townsend on Sunday.

Cummings continues his meteoric rise by winning the replacement second-row
spot, whilst Ali Price completes the Glasgow representatives.

Scotland team to play Ireland, International Stadium, Yokohama in the Rugby World Cup

Sunday 22 September (kick-off 4.45pm) – live on ITV

15. Stuart Hogg (Exeter Chiefs) – 69 caps

14. Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors) – 52 caps

13. Duncan Taylor (Saracens) – 23 caps

12. Sam Johnson (Glasgow Warriors) – 6 caps

11. Sean Maitland (Saracens) – 42 caps

10. Finn Russell (Racing 92) – 46 caps

9. Greig Laidlaw VICE CAPTAIN (Clermont Auvergne) – 73 caps

1. Allan Dell (London Irish) – 25 caps

2. Stuart McInally CAPTAIN (Edinburgh) – 29 caps

3. Willem Nel (Edinburgh) – 31 caps

4. Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh) – 36 caps

5. Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors) – 52 caps

6. John Barclay VICE CAPTAIN (Edinburgh) – 74 caps

7. Hamish Watson (Edinburgh) – 27 caps

8. Ryan Wilson (Glasgow Warriors) – 45 caps


16. Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors) – 42 caps

17. Gordon Reid (Ayrshire Bulls) – 37 caps

18. Simon Berghan (Edinburgh) – 22 caps

19. Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors) – 4 caps

20. Blade Thomson (Scarlets) – 2 caps

21. Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) – 27 caps

22. Chris Harris (Gloucester) – 10 caps

23. Darcy Graham (Edinburgh) – 5 caps

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.