George Horne returns to start against Connacht

George Horne returns to start against Connacht

George Horne returns from injury to start for Glasgow Warriors against Connacht in tomorrow’s Guinness PRO14 clash at Scotstoun.

Horne has been sidelined since Glasgow’s Heineken Champions Cup clash against Saracens and partners Brandon Thomson at half-back, the 23-year-old fly-half fresh from signing a new two-year contract with the club.

Paddy Kelly is brought into the midfield for his first Glasgow Warriors start. He partners Stafford McDowall, both having played together regularly for Ayr in the Tennent’s Premiership.

Niko Matawalu missed Glasgow’s victory in Cardiff with a head knock but has successfully passed his return to play protocols to start this Friday night. Ruairdh Jackson and Kyle Steyn join him in the back-three.

Oli Kebble has recovered from a sickness bug to start in the front-row and Siua Halanukonuka starts the other side of hooker Grant Stewart.

Tim Swinson and Scott Cummings continue their partnership in the second-row and behind them Chris Fusaro returns from injury to captain the side. Rob Harley and Adam Ashe are the other loose forwards selected to start.

On the bench Matt Fagerson is involved in a matchday squad for the first time since picking up a shoulder injury in Glasgow’s Champions Cup victory over Cardiff Blues in January.

Glasgow Warriors Head Coach Dave Rennie said: “Connacht are going to bring over a pretty well-oiled team with a lot of experience.

“They’ve been going really well and because of how tight the comp is this is a big game for both sides.

“They play a pretty good brand of footy and we know they’re going to ask a lot of questions of us, so we’re going to have to be a lot better this week than we were against Cardiff.”

Glasgow Warriors team to play Connacht in the Guinness PRO14, Scotstoun Stadium, Friday 22 February, kick-off 7.35pm, live on Premier Sports 2. You can follow the game on Twitter @GlasgowWarriors. Glasgow Warriors appearances in brackets:

1. Oli Kebble (25)
2. Grant Stewart (17)
3. Siua Halanukonuka (26)
4. Tim Swinson (123)
5. Scott Cummings (50)
6. Rob Harley (203)
7. Chris Fusaro (158) CAPTAIN
8. Adam Ashe (67)

9. George Horne (35)
10. Brandon Thomson (18)
11. Niko Matawalu (108)
12. Stafford McDowall (9)
13. Paddy Kelly (3)
14. Kyle Steyn (1)
15. Ruaridh Jackson (148)


16. Kevin Bryce (23)
17. Jamie Bhatti (39)
18. Adam Nicol (8)
19. Matt Fagerson (39)
20. Thomas Gordon (2)
21. Nick Frisby (10)
22. Rory Hughes (41)
23. Robbie Nairn (4)

Unavailable players: Bruce Flockhart (ankle), Callum Gibbins (ankle/knee), Stuart Hogg (shoulder), Huw Jones (knee), Lee Jones (knee), Matt Smith (shoulder), DTH van der Merwe (shoulder) and Ryan Wilson (knee).

Alex Allan, Fraser Brown, Zander Fagerson, Jonny Gray, Nick Grigg, Adam Hastings, Pete Horne, Sam Johnson, Ali Price, D’Arcy Rae, Tommy Seymour and George Turner (all Scotland).

Tevita Tameilau (USA).

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.