Brown to captain Scotland for Georgia clash

Brown to captain Scotland for Georgia clash

Fraser Brown will captain his country for the first time this weekend, after Scotland Head Coach Gregor Townsend named the hooker as captain for Friday night’s meeting with Georgia at BT Murrayfield.

The 31-year-old
is one of nine Glasgow Warriors selected in the matchday 23, whilst his tally
of 50 caps is more than any other player selected by Townsend for Scotland’s
first match in over seven months.

Brown is
joined in the front-row by club-mate Zander Fagerson, with Scott Cummings
continuing his remarkable run of international involvement by being named in a
Scotland matchday squad for the 13th fixture in succession.

Fagerson is selected at number eight, as the back-rower makes his first start
for Scotland since last August’s win over Georgia in Tbilisi.

A new role
for Ali Price sees the scrum-half named as vice-captain for the first time in
his career, with fly-half Adam Hastings completing the contingent of starting

Oli Kebble
is in line to make his international debut from the bench, after the loose-head
prop’s performances at the start of the 2020/21 season earned him a first
Scotland call-up.

Also amongst
the replacements is Rob Harley, who could make his first Scotland appearance
since February 2019 on Friday night.

George Horne
rounds out the Glasgow cohort, as the scrum-half continues his run of being
named in every Scotland matchday 23 in 2020.

Scotland team to play Georgia at BT Murrayfield
Friday 23 October (kick-off 7:30pm) – live on ITV4.

15. Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh) – 21 caps
14. Darcy Graham (Edinburgh) – 11 caps
13. Chris Harris (Gloucester) – 18 caps
12. James Lang (Harlequins) – 2 caps
11. Duhan van der Merwe (Edinburgh) – Uncapped
10. Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors) – 20 caps
9. Ali Price VICE CAPTAIN (Glasgow Warriors) – 32 caps

1. Rory Sutherland (Edinburgh) – 7 caps
2. Fraser Brown CAPTAIN (Glasgow Warriors) – 50 caps
3. Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) – 29 caps
4. Ben Toolis (Edinburgh) – 25 caps
5. Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors) – 12 caps
6. Jamie Ritchie VICE CAPTAIN (Edinburgh) – 18 caps
7. Hamish Watson (Edinburgh) – 32 caps
8. Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) – 8 caps

16. Stuart McInally (Edinburgh) – 37 caps
17. Oli Kebble (Glasgow Warriors) – Uncapped
18. Simon Berghan (Edinburgh) – 25 caps
19. Rob Harley (Glasgow Warriors) – 21 caps
20. Nick Haining (Edinburgh) – 3 caps
21. Cornell du Preez (Worcester Warriors) – 7 caps
22. George Horne (Glasgow Warriors) – 13 caps
23. Finn Russell (Racing 92) – 49 caps

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.