12 Warriors in Scotland squad to face Ireland

12 Warriors in Scotland squad to face Ireland

Gregor Townsend has selected twelve Glasgow Warriors in his matchday squad as Scotland welcome Ireland to BT Murrayfield this Saturday.

Jonny Gray has returned from injury to start in the second-row and Ryan Wilson moves from number 8 to the blind-side flank.

Sam Johnson impressed on his debut against Italy last weekend and keeps his place in midfield. He is once again joined by Huw Jones and Tommy Seymour and Stuart Hogg both keep their place in the back-three.

On the bench, D’Arcy Rae will make his international debut should he be called upon.

Fraser Brown has recovered from a knee injury to be involved and Jamie Bhatti makes it an all Warriors front-row among the replacements.

Rob Harley’s impressive domestic form has been rewarded with a spot on the bench, his first involvement with the national side since 2017.

Ali Price is once again the scrum-half replacement and Pete Horne has also recovered from injury to be named on the bench.

Scotland team to play Ireland in the Guinness Six Nations

Saturday 9 February, kick-off 2.15pm – live on BBC

1. Allan Dell (Edinburgh) – 18 caps

2. Stuart McInally VICE CAPTAIN (Edinburgh) – 23 caps

3. Simon Berghan (Edinburgh) – 15 caps

4. Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh) – 29 caps

5. Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors) – 47 caps

6. Ryan Wilson (Glasgow Warriors) – 42 caps

7. Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh) – 7 caps

8. Josh Strauss (Sale Sharks) – 18 caps

9. Greig Laidlaw CAPTAIN (Clermont Auvergne) – 67 caps

10. Finn Russell (Racing 92) – 41 caps

11. Sean Maitland (Saracens) – 37 caps

12. Sam Johnson (Glasgow Warriors) – 1 cap

13. Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors) – 20 caps

14. Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors) – 47 caps

15. Stuart Hogg VICE CAPTAIN (Glasgow Warriors) – 66 caps


16. Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors) – 38 caps

17. Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors) – 12 caps

18. D’arcy Rae (Glasgow Warriors) – uncapped

19. Ben Toolis (Edinburgh) – 15 caps

20. Rob Harley (Glasgow Warriors) – 20 caps

21. Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) – 20 caps

22. Pete Horne (Glasgow Warriors) – 38 caps

23. Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh) – 8 caps

Squad players unavailable through injury: George Horne (shoulder), Lee Jones (knee), John Hardie (knee), Willem Nel (calf), Sam Skinner (ankle).

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.