11 Warriors selected for Calcutta Cup clash

11 Warriors selected for Calcutta Cup clash

A Scotland squad containing 11 Glasgow Warriors will run out on Saturday evening looking for a fifth win in six matches against England, as Gregor Townsend’s men open their 2023 Guinness Six Nations campaign at Twickenham.

Having retained the Calcutta Cup in thrilling fashion at BT Murrayfield in the opening match of the 2022 tournament, Townsend’s squad will be looking to secure rugby’s oldest trophy for a third successive year on Saturday afternoon after a memorable victory on their last visit to Twickenham in 2021.

Six of the Warriors selected are named in the starting XV, with Glasgow Warriors club captain Kyle Steyn selected on the wing to win his sixth cap in the dark blue jersey.

Huw Jones gets the nod at outside centre, the 29-year-old in line for his first Scotland appearance since the 2021 Guinness Six Nations win over France in Paris.

Sione Tuipulotu joins Jones in the centres, having made his first appearance in the championship in last year’s Calcutta Cup win at BT Murrayfield.

The Warriors also contribute to the spine of the pack, George Turner selected at hooker two years on from his barnstorming display at Twickenham in Scotland’s first win over their counterparts in London since 1983.

Richie Gray is the most experienced Warrior selected by Townsend, the second-rower set to win his 70th cap for his country on Saturday evening.

Matt Fagerson completes the Glasgow cohort in the starting XV, the number eight having started in each of Scotland’s four Autumn Nations Series matches back in November.

Five further Warriors are selected amongst the replacements, with Fraser Brown’s recent form – including a Player of the Match-winning display in Glasgow’s 42-28 victory over the Dragons last weekend – earning him a place on the bench.

Simon Berghan is another who could win his first Scotland cap in almost two years, the tight-head returning to the fold for the first time since the 2021 tournament.

Jamie Bhatti makes it a full house of Warriors amongst the front-row cover, the loose-head having featured in each of Glasgow’s last 10 matchday squads.

Jack Dempsey wears the number 20 jersey, having also appeared in each of Scotland’s Autumn Nations Series fixtures.

George Horne rounds out the Glasgow representatives, the scrum-half having scored more points in the 2022/23 BKT URC than any other Warrior to date.

Scotland team to face England in the Guinness Six Nations opener on Saturday, 4 February at BT Murrayfield, kick-off 4.45pm, live on STV and ITV

15. Stuart Hogg (Exeter Chiefs) 96 caps
14. Kyle Steyn (Glasgow Warriors) 5 caps
13. Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors) 31 caps
12. Sione Tuipulotu (Glasgow Warriors) 11 caps
11. Duhan van der Merwe (Edinburgh Rugby) 23 caps
10. Finn Russell (Racing 92) 65 caps
9. Ben White (London Irish) 9 caps

1. Pierre Schoeman (Edinburgh Rugby) 16 caps
2. George Turner (Glasgow Warriors) 30 caps
3. WP Nel (Edinburgh Rugby) 50 caps
4. Richie Gray (Glasgow Warriors) 69 caps
5. Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh Rugby) 59 caps
6. Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby) – Captain – 36 caps
7. Luke Crosbie (Edinburgh Rugby) 2 caps
8. Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) 28 caps

16. Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors) 57 caps
17. Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors) 25 caps
18. Simon Berghan (Glasgow Warriors) 31 caps
19. Jonny Gray (Exeter Chiefs) 72 caps
20. Jack Dempsey (Glasgow Warriors) 4 caps
21. George Horne (Glasgow Warriors) 18 caps
22. Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby) 38 caps
23. Chris Harris (Glasgow Warriors) 39 caps

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Glasgow Warriors.